Staff

Rajia Tobia

About Me

Portrait of Rajia Tobia
Rajia Tobia
Executive Director of Libraries
(210) 567-2400
tobia@uthscsa.edu

Areas of Expertise

  • collection development, electronic journals, outreach

Memberships

  • Distinguished Member, Academy of Health Information Professionals
  • Medical Library Association
  • American Library Association
  • South Central Chapter/Medical Library Association
  • Texas Library Association

Education

  • A.M.L.S., University of Michigan School of Library Science, Ann Arbor, Michigan, 1975
  • B.A., Michigan State University, English major, East Lansing, Michigan, 1973

Selected Publications

  • Bowden VM, Kromer ME, Tobia RC. Assessment of physicians’ information needs in five Texas counties. Bulletin of the Medical Library Association 1994;82:189-196.
  • Bowden VM, Kromer ME, Tobia RC. Medical Information Availability and Usage in South Texas. Final Report (National Library of Medicine Contract N01-LM-6-3505), August 31, 1991.
  • Tobia RC, Bierschenk NF, Knodel LC, et al. Improving access to computer-based library and drug information services in patient care areas. American Journal of Hospital Pharmacy 1990;47:137-42.
  • Bowden VM, Tobia RC. miniMEDLINE: comment (letter). Bulletin of the Medical Library Association 1986;74:165-66.
  • Tobia RC. Clinical librarianship at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Library. Clinical Librarian Quarterly 1984;3:1-4.
  • Tobia RC, Kronick DA, Harris GD. A clinical information consultation service in a teaching hospital setting. Bulletin of the Medical Library Association 1983;71:396-99.
  • Tobia RC, Dwyer MJ, Reyna G, Bowden VM. Medical library services along the Texas-Mexico Border. Presented paper, National AHEC Workshop, San Antonio, TX, August 13, 1997.
  • Tobia RC, Siegel LS, Lawrence JC, Knott ME. Loan Star Outreach: introducing health professionals and public librarians to Grateful Med. Poster session, Medical Library Association Annual Meeting, San Antonio, TX, May 17, 1994.
  • Tobia RC. Future of Reference III: what are the public services issues facing medical libraries. Invited presentations, University of Texas at Austin, General Libraries, Future of Reference III Program, Austin, TX, March 1, 1990.
  • Tobia RC, Bierschenk NF. LIS/DIS: using CD-ROM with LIS to expand information services. Poster session, American Library Association Annual Meeting, Dallas, TX, June 25, 1989.
  • Tobia RC, Willcox SM, Knodel LC, et al. LIS/DIS: linking the library, drug information and patient care. Paper presented at Medical Library Association Annual Meeting, New Orleans, LA, May 24, 1988.
  • Tobia RC. Impact of the online catalog on public services. Invited presentation at the Health Sciences OCLC Users Group Annual Meeting, Cincinnati, OH, April 17, 1986.
  • Tobia RC. What has been published? The literature review. Invited presentation at the American Academy of Family Physicians, Regional Research Workshop, San Antonio, TX, May 14, 1982.
  • Tobia RC. Managing the small hospital library. Workshop, Holy Cross Hospital, Austin, TX, February 12, 1981.

Selected Presentations

Staff Directory

Office of the Director

Staff Member Title Email Phone
Owen Ellard, MLIS, MA Senior Director of Libraries ellard@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2413
Herlinda Howard Business Administrator for Academic, Faculty, and Student Affairs and Library howardh@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2407
Sharon Leach Administrative Assistant LeachSM@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2408

Collection Resources and Special Collections

Staff Member Title Email Phone
John Weed, MSIS Head of Collection Resources weedj@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2479
Andrea Schorr, MSIS Metadata and Collection Management Librarian schorr@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2403
Dana Whitmire, MSLS Electronic Resources/Serials Librarian whitmired@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2464
Lisa Matye Finnie, MLS Special Collections Librarian & Assistant Records Manager finnie@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2406
Jaclyn Georges, MSIS Records Management Officer & Archivist georgesj@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2428
Melissa DeThorne Special Collections Library Assistant dethorne@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2470
Ron Mesa Collection Resources Library Assistant mesa@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2450

Library Technology

Staff Member Title Email Phone
Jeremy Mercier, MSIS Head of Library Technology mercierj3@uthscsa.edu (210) 562-6805
Kelley Minars, MLIS Web Services Librarian minars@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2483
Fabian Rodriguez Information Technology Specialist rodriguezf2@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2784
Phillip Minor Information Technology Specialist minor@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-0451
Jared Ozuna Information Technology Specialist OzunaJ@uthscsa.edu (210) 562-6866
Robert Zuniga Library Technology Assistant zunigar@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2084

Library and Outreach Services

Staff Member Title Email Phone
Jonquil Feldman, MALS, AHIP Director of Briscoe Library and Outreach Services feldman@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2430
Chris Gaspard, MSLS Head of User Services sifuentes@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2429
Emme Lopez, MLS Education and Assessment Librarian lopeze13@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-6606
Peg Seger, MLIS Head of Outreach Services segerp@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-6398
Patty Tello Interlibrary Loan Library Assistant tello@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2413
Walter Creech Interlibrary Loan Library Assistant creechw@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2460
Luis Barcenes Information Services Library Assistant barcenes@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2485
Maria Mota Access Services Library Assistant motam2@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2497
Albert Ramirez Access Services Library Assistant ramireza1@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2435
Steve Slaten Access Services Library Assistant slaten@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2446
David Alvarez Access Services Library Assistant alvarezda@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2435
Lynn Blair Access Services Library Assistant blairl@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2440
Juan Jaime Access Services Library Assistant jaime@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2439
Richard Kaye Access Services Library Assistant kayer@uthscsa.edu (210) 567-2440