Databases

AAMC Careers in Medicine

Career planning and information site from the AAMC, designed to help medical students “choose a medical specialty and select and apply to a residency program.” Includes a categorized list of links related to career planning, specialty selection, debt management, and job search sites tailored to physicians and medical students.

Students must receive an access code from one of the UTHSC’s CiM Liaisons and register to begin using the password-protected portions of the Web site.

database

ABLEDATA

Provides objective information about assistive technology products and rehabilitation equipment available from domestic and international sources.

Go to Database

Academic Search Complete

Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 Journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports and conference proceedings. The journals offered cover nearly all areas of study: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and women’s studies.

This database is also available mobily.

Go to Database

AccessMedicine

Collection of full text books from McGraw-Hill including access to USMLEasy, an online testing service to help prepare students for Step 1 USMLE exams. Some books can also be accessed from mobile devices; use these instructions to access the mobile interface.

Go to Database

AccessSurgery

Access Surgery includes content from electronic textbooks, drug information, surgical videos, surgical animations, and a differential diagnosis tool. Access Surgery also includes access to a board review test from Surgery Review Illustrated and Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery: Self-Assessment and Board Review.

Go to Database

ACP Journal Club (EBM Reviews)

Part of Ovid’s Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) Reviews collection, the ACP Journal Club Collection consists of two journals: ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication with the British Medical Journal Group.

Go to Database

AGRICOLA

AGRICultural OnLine Access serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.

Go to Database

AGRICOLA (EBSCO)

Agricultural OnLine Access is a database of records from the U.S. National Agriculture Library covering all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including food and nutrition and verterinary science. Citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.

Go to Database

Alcohol Studies Database (Rutgers)

The Alcohol Studies Database contains citations of over 80,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies since 1987. The primary focus of the database is on research and professional materials dealing with beverage alcohol, its use and related consequences including journal articles, books, book chapter, dissertations, conference papers and audio-visual materials.

Go to Database

Alt HealthWatch

Focuses on the perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.

Go to Database

Altbib

Altbib is a free database provided by the National Library of Medicine that can be used to search for alternatives to the use of live animals in biomedical research and testing. Altbib also offers a link to PubMed with the option of searching PubMed with a pre-set filter of Medical Subject Headings related to Animal Use Alternatives. There are additional links to live PubMed searches on selected topics and a list of other resources for information on animal alternatives.

Go to Database

AMA Freida

Is an interactive database containing information on over 8200 graduate medical education programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, as well as over 200 combined specialty programs. Information is provided by program directors and updated continuously.

Go to Database

America: History & Life

Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This database contains indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present as well as citations and links to book and media reviews, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.

Go to Database

American Chemical Society E-Journals

Offers 35 prestigious journals in the chemical and related sciences in addition to its weekly newsmagazine covering the chemical enterprise. ACS Publications provides searchable access to over 130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 750,000 articles contained in 3 million plus pages of chemistry findings, dating back to the introduction of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879.
Remote access available for UT HSC students, faculty, and staff.

Go to Database

American Journal of Physiology

An index of various AJP Consolidated journals which include:
AJP: Cell Physiology
AJP: Heart and Circulatory Physiology
AJP: Regulatory, Integrative and Comparative Physiology
AJP: Gastrointestinal and Liver Physiology
AJP: Lung Cellular and Molecular Physiology
AJP: Renal Physiology
AJP: Endocrinology and Metabolism
Remote access available for UT HSC students, faculty, and staff.

Go to Database