Biology

Biological Abstracts

Biological Abstracts® encompasses the entire field of life sciences and provides comprehensive coverage of the world’s published biological and biomedical research. This includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. More than 6.500 serials are monitored for inclusion. The database also includes short communications such as technical notes and letters. Abstracts are provided for full-length articles.

Go to Database

BioMed Central

Digital full text archive peer reviewed research from over 100 life sciences journals managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information at the United States National Library of Medicine. Various dates of coverage are provided. Subjects include: Biology, Genetics & Life Sciences; E-Journals, Books & Newspapers; Health, Medicine & Psychology; Publicly Available Resources; and Science & Technology.

Go to Database

E-Print Network

The Department of Energy’s E-Print Network is a gateway to over 27,850 Web sites and databases worldwide, containing over 5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics but also including subject areas such as chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies, and other disciplines of interest to DOE.

Go to Database

Entrez, the Life Sciences Search Engine

This meta-search engine searches any or all of the National Library of Medicine’s Entrez databases with one click. The databases include clinical literature (MEDLINE), population and experimental data sets (PopSet and GEO DataSets), sequence databases (Nucleotide and Protein), and more than a dozen others.

Go to Database

JayDoc Histweb

The JayDoc HistoCD is a histology atlas that corresponds with the laboratory exercises of the Cell and Tissue Biology course of the School of Medicine of the University of Kansas.

Go to Database

National Biological Information Infrastructure

The National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) is a free broad, collaborative program to provide increased access to data and information on the nation’s biological resources.

Go to Database

OLDMEDLINE

OLDMEDLINE represents journal article citations from two printed indexes: Cumulated Index Medicus (CIM) and the Current List of Medical Literature (CLML). Created by the National Library of Medicine, these approximately 1,816,000 citations to articles from international biomedical journals cover the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences from 1949 through 1965.

Click here for the OVID Personal Password login.

Go to Database

Ovid

OvidSP is a user-friendly interface to many of the Library’s biomedical databases. These databases include the following:

Ovid MEDLINE
Ovid MEDLINE In-Process
Ovid OLDMEDLINE
EBM Reviews – ACP Journal Club
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
EBM Reviews – Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
PsycINFO
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Journals@Ovid Full Text
Ovid Healthstar
Biological Abstracts
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Methodology Register
EBM Reviews – Health Technology Assessment
EBM Reviews – NHS Economic Evaluation Database

Click here for the Ovid Personal Password login.

Database Help Button

PubChem

PubChem is an Entrez database, from the National Library of Medicine, that provides information on the biological activities of small molecules that is comprised of three individual databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem Bioassay. It is a component of NIH’s Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.

go to database

PubMed

PubMed is a search system from the National Library of Medicine. It includes references from MEDLINE and MEDLINE in Process, as well as a small number of references not included in these databases. It features built-in search filters for diagnosis, therapy, and prognosis, and includes links to databanks of DNA/protein sequence and 3-D structure data. PubMed also links to publishers’ sites for full-text journals, although many of these journals require subscriptions for viewing. Older records (1950-1965) formerly in OLDMEDLINE have also been added to PubMed.

PubMed QR Code

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.

 

Database Help Button

  • Page 1 of 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • >