Chemistry

American Chemical Society E-Journals

Offers 35 prestigious journals in the chemical and related sciences in addition to its weekly newsmagazine covering the chemical enterprise. ACS Publications provides searchable access to over 130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 750,000 articles contained in 3 million plus pages of chemistry findings, dating back to the introduction of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879.
Remote access available for UT HSC students, faculty, and staff.

Go to Database

E-Print Network

The Department of Energy’s E-Print Network is a gateway to over 27,850 Web sites and databases worldwide, containing over 5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics but also including subject areas such as chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies, and other disciplines of interest to DOE.

Go to Database

PubChem

PubChem is an Entrez database, from the National Library of Medicine, that provides information on the biological activities of small molecules that is comprised of three individual databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem Bioassay. It is a component of NIH’s Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.

go to database

PubGene

PubGene, a free public access Web resource, provides users with a graphical interface to access database information, primarily from MEDLINE, that catalogs the occurrence of symbols and phrases identifying complex relationships between genes, RNA transcripts, proteins, mutations, chemical compounds, pathways, or diseases in the scientific literature. PubGene uses text mining to search the abstract texts of 25 million PubMed articles for co-citation of multiple genes or proteins and displays them as “Literature Networks,” where nodes represent each gene or protein and the connecting lines represent the number of articles in which each gene or protein pair is co-cited.

go to database

Science & Technology Collection

Science and Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.

go to database

SciFinder

Information contained in SciFinder is from the CAS databases produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service. SciFinder also provides access to patient information, conference proceedings, and the CAS Registry of Chemical Substances. This resource also covers biology, life sciences, food sciences, engineering, physics, and other sciences.

Access to SciFinder requires registration first!  Here are instructions:

  • Access to SciFinder is restricted to currently enrolled students and current appointed faculty and staff at UT Health Science Center San Antonio.
  • During account setup, you will be asked to provide a valid personal email address ending in uthscsa.edu. If your preferred email provider is an external system such as gmail, your campus mail account must be set to forward to your preferred account.
  • Your user name must be unique and contain 5-15 characters. It can contain only letters or a combination of letters, numbers, and/or these special characters: – (dash); _ (underscore); . (period); @ (at symbol). Your password must contain 7-15 characters and include at least three of the following: letters; mixed upper- and lowercase letters; numbers; non-alphanumeric characters such as @ # % & *
  • A confirmation email will be sent to the address you provide, containing an IP-restricted link that you must follow to complete the process. (If you are off campus, you must have a proxied browser session or the link won’t work.)
  • Only one user account is allowed per email address.
  • The UT Health Science Center San Antonio Library will not know your password. Be sure to answer the secret question so you can retrieve your password if you forget it.
  • Each individual must have his/her own SciFinder account. As with all personal data, never share your username and password with anyone else. CAS will delete accounts that it suspects are shared or abusive.
  • Academic use of SciFinder is restricted by conditions you agree to upon logging in. Please read and be aware of these conditions. CAS actively monitors searching activity for evidence of abuse.

Register here

go to database