Delivery of Health Care

HCUPnet: Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project

HCUPnet is a free on-line query system that allows instant access to the largest set of all-payer health care databases (1997-2005) that are publicly available. Using HCUPnet’s easy step-by-step query system, you may generate tables and graphs on national and regional statistics and trends for community hospitals in the U.S. In addition, community hospital data are available for those States that have agreed to participate in HCUPnet. HCUPnet is based on aggregate statistics tables to speed up data transfer and protect individual records, so not all possible queries can be addressed. HCUPnet is part of the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUPnet generates statistics using data from HCUP’s Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS), the Kids’ Inpatient Database (KID), and the State Inpatient Databases (SID).

Go to Database

HealthSTAR/Ovid HealthStar

HealthSTAR/Ovid HealthStar contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. HealthSTAR replaces the former Health Planning and Administration database (HEALTH).

Go to Database

MEDLINE – EBSCO

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Citations are included from Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature. Additionally includes table of contents information for 2,400 titles from the British Document Supply Centre.

Medline QR Code

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.

 

Go to Database

National Guideline Clearinghouse

The National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) , U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC was originally created by AHRQ in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans (now America’s Health Insurance Plans [AHIP]).

NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

go to database

OLDMEDLINE

OLDMEDLINE represents journal article citations from two printed indexes: Cumulated Index Medicus (CIM) and the Current List of Medical Literature (CLML). Created by the National Library of Medicine, these approximately 1,816,000 citations to articles from international biomedical journals cover the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences from 1949 through 1965.

Click here for the OVID Personal Password login.

Go to Database

Ovid

OvidSP is a user-friendly interface to many of the Library’s biomedical databases. These databases include the following:

Ovid MEDLINE
Ovid MEDLINE In-Process
Ovid OLDMEDLINE
EBM Reviews – ACP Journal Club
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
EBM Reviews – Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
PsycINFO
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Journals@Ovid Full Text
Ovid Healthstar
Biological Abstracts
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Methodology Register
EBM Reviews – Health Technology Assessment
EBM Reviews – NHS Economic Evaluation Database

Click here for the Ovid Personal Password login.

Database Help Button

PubMed

PubMed is a search system from the National Library of Medicine. It includes references from MEDLINE and MEDLINE in Process, as well as a small number of references not included in these databases. It features built-in search filters for diagnosis, therapy, and prognosis, and includes links to databanks of DNA/protein sequence and 3-D structure data. PubMed also links to publishers’ sites for full-text journals, although many of these journals require subscriptions for viewing. Older records (1950-1965) formerly in OLDMEDLINE have also been added to PubMed.

PubMed QR Code

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.

 

Database Help Button