Diagnosis

ACP Journal Club (EBM Reviews)

Part of Ovid’s Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) Reviews collection, the ACP Journal Club Collection consists of two journals: ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication with the British Medical Journal Group.

Go to Database

Bates Physical Exams

Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 4th edition is based on the Bates Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by the late Barbara Bates. It is a teaching resource consisting of 18 anatomy and system specific modules which show step-by-step examinations with rationales for the clinician’s actions. It includes expanded discussions of health history taking, documentation, communication, and patient/practitioner interactions.

Go to Database

BioMed Central

Digital full text archive peer reviewed research from over 100 life sciences journals managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information at the United States National Library of Medicine. Various dates of coverage are provided. Subjects include: Biology, Genetics & Life Sciences; E-Journals, Books & Newspapers; Health, Medicine & Psychology; Publicly Available Resources; and Science & Technology.

Go to Database

Catalog of Clinical Images

A web-based collection of physical examination findings.

Go to Database

DXplain

DXplain, a computer-assisted decision support system, can be used in two main modes, as a medical textbook, or for case analyses. As a medical textbook, DXplain can provide a comprehensive description and selected references for over 2,200 different diseases. In terms of case analysis, DXplain uses an interactive format to collect clinical information and produces a ranked list of diagnoses each of which could explain some or all of the clinical manifestations entered.

Go to Database

E-Print Network

The Department of Energy’s E-Print Network is a gateway to over 27,850 Web sites and databases worldwide, containing over 5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics but also including subject areas such as chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies, and other disciplines of interest to DOE.

Go to Database

Interactive Dermatology Atlas

The Dermatology Atlas is meant as a complete reference of common and uncommon conditions involving the skin.

Go to Database

Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education

Includes over 1900 images along with text, tutorials, laboratory exercises, and examination items for self-assessment that demonstrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings associated with human disease conditions.

Go to Database

Medscape Reference

Medscape Reference (formerly known as eMedicine) is the most current, authoritative, and easy-to-access clinical resource on the web, featuring drugs, diseases, and procedures.

Go to Database

UpToDate

UpToDate is an electronic, full-text clinical resource that provides instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked questions in clinical practice. Specialties covered in depth by UpToDate include Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Family Practice, Gynecology, Infectious Diseases, Oncology, Pediatrics, Women’s Health, and others. Original material in UpToDate is written by an international faculty of practicing clinicians who are experts in their specialties.

Remote access is not available. It is available only on computers connected to the UTHSC network or HSCWave — not the BriscoeWiFi wireless network.

Go To Database