Education

Academic Search Complete

Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 Journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports and conference proceedings. The journals offered cover nearly all areas of study: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and women’s studies.

This database is also available mobily.

Go to Database

AccessMedicine

Collection of full text books from McGraw-Hill including access to USMLEasy, an online testing service to help prepare students for Step 1 USMLE exams. Some books can also be accessed from mobile devices; use these instructions to access the mobile interface.

Go to Database

ACP Journal Club (EBM Reviews)

Part of Ovid’s Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) Reviews collection, the ACP Journal Club Collection consists of two journals: ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication with the British Medical Journal Group.

Go to Database

AMA Freida

Is an interactive database containing information on over 8200 graduate medical education programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, as well as over 200 combined specialty programs. Information is provided by program directors and updated continuously.

Go to Database

APGO Residency Directory

The Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO) is a non-profit membership-based organization for women’s health educators.

Password Protected: Obtain this code by contacting the Library Information Desk Staff at (210) 567-2450.

Go to Database

Business Source Complete

A scholarly business database which provides a collection of bibliographic and full text content. Business Source® Complete contains active, peer-reviewed, business related journals. Coverage includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is a solid database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.

Go to Database

Cardiosource Plus

An online cardiovascular information and educational resource produced by the American College of Cardiology Foundation. Cardiosource enables cardiovascular professionals to easily stay up-to-date with the most relevant research findings and best practices, with analysis and commentary by experts in the field to help put the findings in perspective for immediate application in practice.

Individual registration required for full access to the entire site. UTHSC Library maintains institutional subscription. Available to UTHSC students, faculty, and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.

Go to Database

ClinicalTrials.gov

National Library of Medicine ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. It gives the trial’s purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.

Go to Database

Computer Source

Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics and software. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.

Go to Database

DailyMed

DailyMed, from the National Library of Medicine, provides information about marketed drugs. It also provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. This site does not contain a complete listing of labels for approved prescription drugs.

Go to Database