Electronic Book Collections

AccessMedicine

Collection of full text books from McGraw-Hill including access to USMLEasy, an online testing service to help prepare students for Step 1 USMLE exams. Some books can also be accessed from mobile devices; use these instructions to access the mobile interface.

Go to Database

AccessSurgery

Access Surgery includes content from electronic textbooks, drug information, surgical videos, surgical animations, and a differential diagnosis tool. Access Surgery also includes access to a board review test from Surgery Review Illustrated and Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery: Self-Assessment and Board Review.

Go to Database

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of electronic reference books in a variety of subject areas, including health, business, careers, history, literature, biography, science and many more.

Go to Database

Health Reference Center Academic

Provides access to personal health information sources plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals. Integrates the full text and images of nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, newspaper articles, topical overviews, and reference books.

Go to Database

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Provides access to nearly 80 full text consumer health magazines, searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets, and more than 130 health reference books. This database covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children’s health, and women’s health.

Go to Database

MD Consult

MD Consult includes almost 50 medical texts, articles from more than 80 journals, over 1,000 practice guidelines, drug information, 10,000 patient education handouts, CME, and daily medical updates. “Generic” access does not require a subscription. UTHSC personnel may choose to subscribe free to MD Consult in order to personalize profiles. Registrations for personal subscriptions must be completed from a computer within the UTHSC Internet domain.

Database Help Button