Evidence-Based-Medicine

ACP Journal Club (EBM Reviews)

Part of Ovid’s Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) Reviews collection, the ACP Journal Club Collection consists of two journals: ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication with the British Medical Journal Group.

Go to Database

Cochrane

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH) includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types:

  • Complete reviews – Regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review
  • Groups Protocols – Protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion).
  • Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Library consists of several evidence-based medicine databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, DARE, CENTRAL (the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials), the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.

This multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the three Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE).

Go to Database

EBM Reviews – ACP Journal Club

ACP Journal Club (ACP) is part of Ovid’s Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection, and consists of two journals, ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication of the American College of Physicians and the British Medical Journal Group. ACP Journal Club and Evidence-Based Medicine merged in 2000 and all new content is listed as coming from ACP journal Club from that date.

Go to Database

EBM Reviews: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCTR)

CCTR (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register) is a bibliographic database of definitive controlled trials, and part of Ovid’s Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection. It is a joint production of the National Library of Medicine, who produce MEDLINE and Reed Elsevier who produce EMBASE. CCTR contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care together with references to clinical trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration in MEDLINE and EMBASE.

Go to Database

National Guideline Clearinghouse

The National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) , U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC was originally created by AHRQ in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans (now America’s Health Insurance Plans [AHIP]).

NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

go to database

Ovid

OvidSP is a user-friendly interface to many of the Library’s biomedical databases. These databases include the following:

Ovid MEDLINE
Ovid MEDLINE In-Process
Ovid OLDMEDLINE
EBM Reviews – ACP Journal Club
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
EBM Reviews – Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
PsycINFO
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Journals@Ovid Full Text
Ovid Healthstar
Biological Abstracts
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Methodology Register
EBM Reviews – Health Technology Assessment
EBM Reviews – NHS Economic Evaluation Database

Click here for the Ovid Personal Password login.

Database Help Button

PEDro

PEDro is a free database that provides evidence-based information for physiotherapy (physical therapy) practice. PEDro includes over 20,o00 systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and randomized trials. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality.

go to database

PIER (American College of Physicians)

PIER (Physicians’ Information and Education Resource) is a “Web-based decision-support tool” provided by the American College of Physicians and accessed through StatRef! It offers evidence-based guidance for clinical decision making. Designed for ease of use, the PIER allows users to “drill down” through seven modules (diseases, screening and prevention/complementary/alternative medicine, ethical and legal issues, procedures, quality measures, drug resource) to specific synthesized information and also provides links to additional relevant references.

go to database

SUMSearch

SUMSearch is an Internet search engine for medical knowledge developed at the UT Health Science Center by Dr. Robert Badgett. It selects the best resources among several full-text books and biomedical databases for the question, formats the question for each resource, and makes additional searches based on results.

Go To Database

TRIP

TRIP is a search engine for evidence-based medicine. The aim of the TRIP Database is to allow health professionals to easily find the highest-quality material available on the web in support of evidence-based practice.

For direct linking to the UTHSC journals, log in to TRIP and select our institution from the drop-down menu. Full Text: HSCLink will appear under citations.

Go TO Database

  • Page 1 of 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • >