General Reference

Academic Search Complete

Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 Journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports and conference proceedings. The journals offered cover nearly all areas of study: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and women’s studies.

This database is also available mobily.

Go to Database

America: History & Life

Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This database contains indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present as well as citations and links to book and media reviews, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.

Go to Database

Directory of Published Proceedings

The Directory of Published Proceedings provides online access to published material from thousands of conferences, congresses, meetings, and symposia in subject areas including medical/life sciences, social sciences/humanities, science/engineering/technology, and pollution control/ecology.

Go to Database

FirstSearch: WorldCat

WorldCat (the OCLC online union catalog) is a large database of bibliographic information, culled from the shared records of libraries from all over the world. Over 1 billion items, in over 400 languages are represented in the database, with holdings information, and other information vital to collection development, and cataloging.

Go to Database

Funk and Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia

Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records and contains various images, bibliographies, and information in a variety of subject areas.

Go to Database

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of electronic reference books in a variety of subject areas, including health, business, careers, history, literature, biography, science and many more.

Go to Database

Historical Abstracts

Covers the history of the world excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more. This database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Go to Database

Library of Texas

The Library of Texas is a service offered by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission that allows users to easily discover and retrieve desired information from multiple library catalogs, databases, and other knowledge collections. Presently, the Library of Texas searches through the catalogs of 76 public libraries, 52 academic libraries, 4 unique libraries, and 17 TexShare commercial databases. The Library of Texas groups these information resources together by subject and region.

Go to Database

MAS Ultra – School Edition

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for more than 500 popular high school magazines, as well as full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps, and flags.

Go to Database

MasterFILE Premier

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 85,827 biographies, 105,789 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 285,912 photos, maps and flags.

Go to Database

  • Page 1 of 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • >