Genetics
Chromosomal Variation in Man
Database reviewing the world literature on all common and rare chromosomal alterations and abnormalities. Coverage is divided into three main subject areas: variations and anomalies, numerical anomalies, and chromosomal breakage syndromes. The database documents information on the availability of mutant cell lines and presents chromosome alterations with a list that cross-references band numbers.

Posted in Databases, Databases C, Genetics | Comments Off
Entrez, the Life Sciences Search Engine
This meta-search engine searches any or all of the National Library of Medicine’s Entrez databases with one click. The databases include clinical literature (MEDLINE), population and experimental data sets (PopSet and GEO DataSets), sequence databases (Nucleotide and Protein), and more than a dozen others.

Posted in Biology, Databases, Databases E, Genetics | Comments Off
Mitelman Database of Chromosome Aberrations in Cancer
Relates chromosomal aberrations to tumor characteristics, based either on individual cases or associations. All the data have been manually culled from the literature.

Posted in Databases, Databases M, Genetics, Oncology | Comments Off
OLDMEDLINE
OLDMEDLINE represents journal article citations from two printed indexes: Cumulated Index Medicus (CIM) and the Current List of Medical Literature (CLML). Created by the National Library of Medicine, these approximately 1,816,000 citations to articles from international biomedical journals cover the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences from 1949 through 1965.
Click here for the OVID Personal Password login.

Posted in Alcoholism, Allied Health, BioChemistry, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Databases, Databases O, Delivery of Health Care, Dentistry, Education, Environmental Health, Ethics, Family Planning, Genetics, Gynecology, Health Education, Health Services, History, History of Medicine, Humanities, Immunology, Medicine, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Nursing, Nutrition, Obstetrics, Organization & Administration, Pharmacology, Protein Science, Psychiatry, Rehabilitation, Social Sciences, Toxicology, Veterinary Medicine | Comments Off
PubGene
PubGene, a free public access Web resource, provides users with a graphical interface to access database information, primarily from MEDLINE, that catalogs the occurrence of symbols and phrases identifying complex relationships between genes, RNA transcripts, proteins, mutations, chemical compounds, pathways, or diseases in the scientific literature. PubGene uses text mining to search the abstract texts of 25 million PubMed articles for co-citation of multiple genes or proteins and displays them as “Literature Networks,” where nodes represent each gene or protein and the connecting lines represent the number of articles in which each gene or protein pair is co-cited.

Posted in Chemistry, Databases, Databases P, Genetics, Medicine, Protein Science | Comments Off
PubMed
PubMed is a search system from the National Library of Medicine. It includes references from MEDLINE and MEDLINE in Process, as well as a small number of references not included in these databases. It features built-in search filters for diagnosis, therapy, and prognosis, and includes links to databanks of DNA/protein sequence and 3-D structure data. PubMed also links to publishers’ sites for full-text journals, although many of these journals require subscriptions for viewing. Older records (1950-1965) formerly in OLDMEDLINE have also been added to PubMed.

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.


Posted in Alcoholism, Allied Health, BioChemistry, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Databases, Databases P, Delivery of Health Care, Dentistry, Education, Environmental Health, Ethics, Family Planning, Genetics, Gynecology, Health Education, Health Services, History, History of Medicine, Humanities, Immunology, Informatics, Medicine, Mobile, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Nursing, Nutrition, Obstetrics, Occupational Therapy, Oncology, Organization & Administration, Protein Science, Psychiatry, Rehabilitation, Toxicology, Veterinary Medicine | Comments Off
SCOPUS
SCOPUS is an abstract database containing records from peer review titles in the medical, scientific, technical, and social science literature. Full-text patent information is also included. More than half of the journal titles in Scopus are from countries other than the United States and include both journals that are unique to MEDLINE and journals that are unique to EMBASE, the European biomedical database that is particularly strong in drug information.
- Over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
- Contains 49 million records
- Provides 100% Medline coverage
Within the 49 million records are:
- 28 million records back to 1996 (of which 78%include citing and cited references)
- 21 million records pre-1996 which go back as far as 1823 (these do not include cited references)
- 5.3 million conference papers from proceedings and journals

Posted in Alcoholism, BioChemistry, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Databases, Databases S, Genetics, Immunology, Medicine, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Pharmacology, Protein Science, Research, Research Support, Science, Social Sciences, Statistics, Toxicology | Comments Off
Web of Science
Web of Science is a citation database which combines the information in two print resources: Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. (A tutorial for Web of Science is available at http://scientific.thomson.com/tutorials/wos7/)
- Science Citation Index Expanded indexes more than 5,600 major journals across more than 150 scientific disciplines, including biology, medicine, legal medicine, chemistry, cell biology, microbiology, medical informatics, oncology, psychiatry, toxicology, pharmacology and pharmacy, and physics. The database covers publications from 1955-present.
- The Social Sciences Citation Index covers more than 1,700 of the world’s leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines. It also includes individually selected, relevant items from more than 3,400 of the world’s leading natural and physical science journals. Disciplines covered by SSCI include Geriatrics and Gerontology, Health Policy and Services, Nursing, Rehabilitation, Public Health, Biomedical Social Sciences, Psychology, and Psychiatry. The database covers publications from 1956-present.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index – (UTHSC Library does not subscribe to this index.)

Posted in Agriculture, BioChemistry, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Databases, Databases W, Genetics, Immunology, Medicine, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Pharmacology, Protein Science, Research, Science, Social Sciences, Statistics, Toxicology | Comments Off