Health Services
Directory of Information Resources Online (DIRLINE)
The Directory of Information Resources Online (DIRLINE) is the National Library of Medicine’s online database containing location and descriptive information about information resources including organizations, research resources, projects and databases concerned with health and biomedicine.

Posted in Consumer, Databases, Databases D, Education, Health Services | Comments Off
HCUPnet: Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
HCUPnet is a free on-line query system that allows instant access to the largest set of all-payer health care databases (1997-2005) that are publicly available. Using HCUPnet’s easy step-by-step query system, you may generate tables and graphs on national and regional statistics and trends for community hospitals in the U.S. In addition, community hospital data are available for those States that have agreed to participate in HCUPnet. HCUPnet is based on aggregate statistics tables to speed up data transfer and protect individual records, so not all possible queries can be addressed. HCUPnet is part of the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUPnet generates statistics using data from HCUP’s Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS), the Kids’ Inpatient Database (KID), and the State Inpatient Databases (SID).

Posted in Databases, Databases H, Delivery of Health Care, Health Services, Organization & Administration, Statistics | Comments Off
Health Reference Center Academic
Provides access to personal health information sources plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals. Integrates the full text and images of nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, newspaper articles, topical overviews, and reference books.

Posted in Databases, Databases H, Education, Electronic Book Collections, Health Education, Health Services, Nursing, Organization & Administration | Comments Off
HealthSTAR/Ovid HealthStar
HealthSTAR/Ovid HealthStar contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. HealthSTAR replaces the former Health Planning and Administration database (HEALTH).

Posted in Databases, Databases H, Delivery of Health Care, Health Services | Comments Off
MEDLINE – EBSCO
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Citations are included from Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature. Additionally includes table of contents information for 2,400 titles from the British Document Supply Centre.

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.

Posted in Allied Health, Databases, Databases M, Delivery of Health Care, Dentistry, Education, Environmental Health, Health Education, Health Services, History of Medicine, Humanities, Medicine, Mobile, Nursing, Nutrition, Occupational Therapy, Rehabilitation, Social Sciences | Comments Off
OLDMEDLINE
OLDMEDLINE represents journal article citations from two printed indexes: Cumulated Index Medicus (CIM) and the Current List of Medical Literature (CLML). Created by the National Library of Medicine, these approximately 1,816,000 citations to articles from international biomedical journals cover the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences from 1949 through 1965.
Click here for the OVID Personal Password login.

Posted in Alcoholism, Allied Health, BioChemistry, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Databases, Databases O, Delivery of Health Care, Dentistry, Education, Environmental Health, Ethics, Family Planning, Genetics, Gynecology, Health Education, Health Services, History, History of Medicine, Humanities, Immunology, Medicine, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Nursing, Nutrition, Obstetrics, Organization & Administration, Pharmacology, Protein Science, Psychiatry, Rehabilitation, Social Sciences, Toxicology, Veterinary Medicine | Comments Off
Ovid
OvidSP is a user-friendly interface to many of the Library’s biomedical databases. These databases include the following:
Ovid MEDLINE
Ovid MEDLINE In-Process
Ovid OLDMEDLINE
EBM Reviews – ACP Journal Club
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
EBM Reviews – Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
PsycINFO
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Journals@Ovid Full Text
Ovid Healthstar
Biological Abstracts
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Methodology Register
EBM Reviews – Health Technology Assessment
EBM Reviews – NHS Economic Evaluation Database
Click here for the Ovid Personal Password login.


Posted in Biology, Databases, Databases O, Delivery of Health Care, Emergency Health Services, Evidence-Based-Medicine, Health Services, Medicine, Nutrition, Occupational Therapy, Psychiatry, Psychology, Public Health, Research, Science, Uncategorized | Comments Off
POPLINE
POPLINE (POPulation information onLINE) contains citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related issues. POPLINE has nearly 370,000 records and has been maintained since 1973 by the K4Health Project (formerly INFO Project). The majority of items are published from 1970 to the present, however, there are selected citations dating back to 1827.

Posted in Databases, Databases P, Family Planning, Health Services, Public Health, Social Sciences, Statistics | Comments Off
PubMed
PubMed is a search system from the National Library of Medicine. It includes references from MEDLINE and MEDLINE in Process, as well as a small number of references not included in these databases. It features built-in search filters for diagnosis, therapy, and prognosis, and includes links to databanks of DNA/protein sequence and 3-D structure data. PubMed also links to publishers’ sites for full-text journals, although many of these journals require subscriptions for viewing. Older records (1950-1965) formerly in OLDMEDLINE have also been added to PubMed.

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.


Posted in Alcoholism, Allied Health, BioChemistry, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Databases, Databases P, Delivery of Health Care, Dentistry, Education, Environmental Health, Ethics, Family Planning, Genetics, Gynecology, Health Education, Health Services, History, History of Medicine, Humanities, Immunology, Informatics, Medicine, Mobile, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Nursing, Nutrition, Obstetrics, Occupational Therapy, Oncology, Organization & Administration, Protein Science, Psychiatry, Rehabilitation, Toxicology, Veterinary Medicine | Comments Off
REHABDATA
Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, REHABDATA is a literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 70,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.

Posted in Allied Health, Databases, Databases R, Health Services, Medicine, Occupational Therapy, Rehabilitation | Comments Off