History

America: History & Life

Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This database contains indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present as well as citations and links to book and media reviews, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.

Go to Database

American Periodicals Series Online, 1741-1900

American Periodicals Series Online, 1741-1900 spans over 1,500 titles and 7 million pages of content, from the first American magazines, published in 1741, to the World War II period — 200 years of American history as recorded in magazines, journals, and newspapers.

Go to Database

Fuente Academica

Fuente Académica is a rapidly growing collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.

Go to Database

Gerritsen Collection – Women’s History Online, 1543-1945

Women’s History Online, 1543-1945, is an international digital library that spans four centuries and 15 languages. Described as “the greatest single source for the study of women’s history in the world”, the collection, begun in the late 1800s, is the work of Dutch physician and feminist Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen and their successors.

Go to Database

HarpWeek

HarpWeek contains the indexes and text of Harper’s Weekly, with full text images and search capabilities for issues from 1857 through 1912. The developer of this electronic resource describes Harper’s Weekly as “the only consistent, comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened world-wide in the last half of the nineteenth century. The size of the Weekly’s pages prohibits the use of standard Internet browser print functions at this time. A special print application has been installed on several Library computers.

Go to Database

HeritageQuest Online

Provides a collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. This database contains material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s.

Go to Database

Historical Abstracts

Covers the history of the world excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more. This database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Go to Database

Historical Anatomies on the Web

Historical Anatomies on the Web offers high quality images from important anatomical atlases in the National Library of Medicine’s historical collection.

Go to Database

Historical New York Times

The New York Times (1851-2004) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Go to Database

IndexCat

IndexCat is a digitized version of the printed Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General’s Office. The Index-Catalogue is a multi-part printed bibliography of items in the Library of the Surgeon-General’s Office, U.S. Army. It contains material dated from the 1400s through 1950 and is an important resource for researchers in the history of medicine, history of science, and for clinical research. This database is searchable by keywords.

Go to Database

  • Page 1 of 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • >