Humanities

ARTstor

ARTstor is a collection of over 500,000 digital images of art, architecture, and related material for use in research and teaching. Collections include the Art History Survey Collection, the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts, the MOMA Architecture and Design Collection, the Carnegie Arts of the U.S., and the Huntington Archive of Asian Arts. Included with each image is descriptive information such as title, creator, date, size, and current location. ARTstor also provides tools to create web pages, presentations, and study guides.

Pop-up blockers must be disabled to use ARTstor. ARTstor also features Instructor Privileges to allow instructors to create folders of images for use in lectures. Obtain the privileges access code by contacting the UTHSCSA Library Information Desk Staff at 210-567-2450.

Go to Database

Contemporary Authors

Contemporary Authors is a full text resource to help researchers discover biographic details on approximately 112,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Current writers, as well as the most-studied literary figures of the early 20th century, and authors from around the world whose works have been translated into English or published in the United States are featured in this award-winning reference resource.

Go to Database

Contemporary Literary Criticism – Select

Contemporary Literary Criticism–Select is an extensive collection of more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Each CLC–Select entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, a list of principal works, critical essays, and sources for further study. CLC-Select is updated monthly.

Go to Database

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Profiles the lives and careers of authors from all areas and genres. Each entry contains personal data, principal works, and sources for further study.

Go to Database

Fuente Academica

Fuente Académica is a rapidly growing collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.

Go to Database

Gerritsen Collection – Women’s History Online, 1543-1945

Women’s History Online, 1543-1945, is an international digital library that spans four centuries and 15 languages. Described as “the greatest single source for the study of women’s history in the world”, the collection, begun in the late 1800s, is the work of Dutch physician and feminist Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen and their successors.

Go to Database

HarpWeek

HarpWeek contains the indexes and text of Harper’s Weekly, with full text images and search capabilities for issues from 1857 through 1912. The developer of this electronic resource describes Harper’s Weekly as “the only consistent, comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened world-wide in the last half of the nineteenth century. The size of the Weekly’s pages prohibits the use of standard Internet browser print functions at this time. A special print application has been installed on several Library computers.

Go to Database

HeritageQuest Online

Provides a collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. This database contains material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s.

Go to Database

Historical New York Times

The New York Times (1851-2004) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Go to Database

IndexCat

IndexCat is a digitized version of the printed Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General’s Office. The Index-Catalogue is a multi-part printed bibliography of items in the Library of the Surgeon-General’s Office, U.S. Army. It contains material dated from the 1400s through 1950 and is an important resource for researchers in the history of medicine, history of science, and for clinical research. This database is searchable by keywords.

Go to Database

  • Page 1 of 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • >