Medicine

AccessMedicine

Collection of full text books from McGraw-Hill including access to USMLEasy, an online testing service to help prepare students for Step 1 USMLE exams. Some books can also be accessed from mobile devices; use these instructions to access the mobile interface.

Go to Database

ACP Journal Club (EBM Reviews)

Part of Ovid’s Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) Reviews collection, the ACP Journal Club Collection consists of two journals: ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication with the British Medical Journal Group.

Go to Database

APGO Residency Directory

The Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO) is a non-profit membership-based organization for women’s health educators.

Password Protected: Obtain this code by contacting the Library Information Desk Staff at (210) 567-2450.

Go to Database

BioMed Central

Digital full text archive peer reviewed research from over 100 life sciences journals managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information at the United States National Library of Medicine. Various dates of coverage are provided. Subjects include: Biology, Genetics & Life Sciences; E-Journals, Books & Newspapers; Health, Medicine & Psychology; Publicly Available Resources; and Science & Technology.

Go to Database

Cancerlit

CANCERLIT is a bibliographic database that contains citations and abstracts for cancer literature from over 4,000 different sources, including biomedical journals, proceedings, books, reports, and doctoral theses. Beginning in June 1983, cancer-specific records from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) MEDLINE database, were incorporated into CANCERLIT. This database reflects the 2002 version of MeSH. The database is produced by the National Cancer Institute’s International Cancer Information Center.

Go to Database

Cardiosource Plus

An online cardiovascular information and educational resource produced by the American College of Cardiology Foundation. Cardiosource enables cardiovascular professionals to easily stay up-to-date with the most relevant research findings and best practices, with analysis and commentary by experts in the field to help put the findings in perspective for immediate application in practice.

Individual registration required for full access to the entire site. UTHSC Library maintains institutional subscription. Available to UTHSC students, faculty, and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.

Go to Database

Cochrane

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH) includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types:

  • Complete reviews – Regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review
  • Groups Protocols – Protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion).
  • Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Library consists of several evidence-based medicine databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, DARE, CENTRAL (the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials), the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.

This multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the three Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE).

Go to Database

Computer-assisted Learning in Pediatrics Program (CLIPP)

Contains thirty-two interactive virtual patient cases that are designed to cover all of the core content of the curriculum of the Council on Medical Student Education in Pediatrics (COMSEP).

Free registration is required.

Go to Database

EBM Reviews – ACP Journal Club

ACP Journal Club (ACP) is part of Ovid’s Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection, and consists of two journals, ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication of the American College of Physicians and the British Medical Journal Group. ACP Journal Club and Evidence-Based Medicine merged in 2000 and all new content is listed as coming from ACP journal Club from that date.

Go to Database

EBM Reviews: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCTR)

CCTR (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register) is a bibliographic database of definitive controlled trials, and part of Ovid’s Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection. It is a joint production of the National Library of Medicine, who produce MEDLINE and Reed Elsevier who produce EMBASE. CCTR contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care together with references to clinical trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration in MEDLINE and EMBASE.

Go to Database