Medicine

Medscape Reference

Medscape Reference (formerly known as eMedicine) is the most current, authoritative, and easy-to-access clinical resource on the web, featuring drugs, diseases, and procedures.

Go to Database

OLDMEDLINE

OLDMEDLINE represents journal article citations from two printed indexes: Cumulated Index Medicus (CIM) and the Current List of Medical Literature (CLML). Created by the National Library of Medicine, these approximately 1,816,000 citations to articles from international biomedical journals cover the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences from 1949 through 1965.

Click here for the OVID Personal Password login.

Go to Database

OT Search

OT Search is a bibliographic database covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas, such as rehabilitation, education, psychiatry or psychology and health care delivery or administration. The full text of the indexed resources is not in this database, just the bibliographic information to identify the material and the author’s abstract when one exists.

go to databases

Ovid

OvidSP is a user-friendly interface to many of the Library’s biomedical databases. These databases include the following:

Ovid MEDLINE
Ovid MEDLINE In-Process
Ovid OLDMEDLINE
EBM Reviews – ACP Journal Club
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
EBM Reviews – Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
PsycINFO
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Journals@Ovid Full Text
Ovid Healthstar
Biological Abstracts
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Methodology Register
EBM Reviews – Health Technology Assessment
EBM Reviews – NHS Economic Evaluation Database

Click here for the Ovid Personal Password login.

Database Help Button

PDQ (Physician Data Query)

PDQ, the National Cancer Institute’s comprehensive cancer database, contains peer-reviewed summaries on cancer treatment, screening, prevention, and supportive care; a registry of approximately 6,000 open and 17,000 closed cancer clinical trials from around the world; and directories of physicians, genetic counselors, and organizations that deliver cancer care.

go to database

PIER (American College of Physicians)

PIER (Physicians’ Information and Education Resource) is a “Web-based decision-support tool” provided by the American College of Physicians and accessed through StatRef! It offers evidence-based guidance for clinical decision making. Designed for ease of use, the PIER allows users to “drill down” through seven modules (diseases, screening and prevention/complementary/alternative medicine, ethical and legal issues, procedures, quality measures, drug resource) to specific synthesized information and also provides links to additional relevant references.

go to database

PsycARTICLES

Covering general psychology, as well as specialized, applied, clinical, and theoretical research, PsycARTICLES contains more than 122,000 articles from 60 journals, 49 published by the APA. Coverage spans 1894 to present, with nearly all APA journals going back to Vol. 1, Issue 1.

go to databases

PubGene

PubGene, a free public access Web resource, provides users with a graphical interface to access database information, primarily from MEDLINE, that catalogs the occurrence of symbols and phrases identifying complex relationships between genes, RNA transcripts, proteins, mutations, chemical compounds, pathways, or diseases in the scientific literature. PubGene uses text mining to search the abstract texts of 25 million PubMed articles for co-citation of multiple genes or proteins and displays them as “Literature Networks,” where nodes represent each gene or protein and the connecting lines represent the number of articles in which each gene or protein pair is co-cited.

go to database

PubMed

PubMed is a search system from the National Library of Medicine. It includes references from MEDLINE and MEDLINE in Process, as well as a small number of references not included in these databases. It features built-in search filters for diagnosis, therapy, and prognosis, and includes links to databanks of DNA/protein sequence and 3-D structure data. PubMed also links to publishers’ sites for full-text journals, although many of these journals require subscriptions for viewing. Older records (1950-1965) formerly in OLDMEDLINE have also been added to PubMed.

PubMed QR Code

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.

 

Database Help Button

PubMed Central

PubMed Central is the barrier-free NIH repository for peer-reviewed primary research reports in the life sciences, which began accepting journal articles in January 2000. Over 500,000 full-text articles are available in HTML and PDF formats.

go to database