Medicine

REHABDATA

Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, REHABDATA is a literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 70,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.

go to database

SCOPUS

SCOPUS is an abstract database containing records from peer review titles in the medical, scientific, technical, and social science literature. Full-text patent information is also included. More than half of the journal titles in Scopus are from countries other than the United States and include both journals that are unique to MEDLINE and journals that are unique to EMBASE, the European biomedical database that is particularly strong in drug information.

  • Over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
  • Contains 49 million records
  • Provides 100% Medline coverage

Within the 49 million records are:

  • 28 million records back to 1996 (of which 78%include citing and cited references)
  • 21 million records pre-1996 which go back as far as 1823 (these do not include cited references)
  • 5.3 million conference papers from proceedings and journals

go to database

Stat!Ref Electronic Medical Library

Stat!Ref Electronic Medical Library provides quick access to a number of full-text medical reference books covering the areas of diagnosis and treatment in a variety of medical specialties, such as Psychiatry, Geriatrics, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Cardiology, and Surgery. Texts on coding, drug information, and abbreviations and acronyms are also available.

This database is also available mobily.

Stat!Ref QR Code

Go To Database

SUMSearch

SUMSearch is an Internet search engine for medical knowledge developed at the UT Health Science Center by Dr. Robert Badgett. It selects the best resources among several full-text books and biomedical databases for the question, formats the question for each resource, and makes additional searches based on results.

Go To Database

Texas Cancer Data Center (TCDC)

The Texas Cancer Data Center (TCDC) includes information on health professionals, health facilities, demographics and statistics, and community resources via the Internet at no charge. TCDC is funded by the Texas Cancer Council, the state agency whose goal is to improve the availability and quality of cancer services and information in Texas.

Go To Database

TRIP

TRIP is a search engine for evidence-based medicine. The aim of the TRIP Database is to allow health professionals to easily find the highest-quality material available on the web in support of evidence-based practice.

For direct linking to the UTHSC journals, log in to TRIP and select our institution from the drop-down menu. Full Text: HSCLink will appear under citations.

Go TO Database

UpToDate

UpToDate is an electronic, full-text clinical resource that provides instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked questions in clinical practice. Specialties covered in depth by UpToDate include Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Family Practice, Gynecology, Infectious Diseases, Oncology, Pediatrics, Women’s Health, and others. Original material in UpToDate is written by an international faculty of practicing clinicians who are experts in their specialties.

Remote access is not available. It is available only on computers connected to the UTHSC network or HSCWave — not the BriscoeWiFi wireless network.

Go To Database

UT Health Science Center San Antonio Clinical Studies

The University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio conducts clinical studies to evaluate experimental treatments and therapies. Many studies are open to persons who fit specific profiles. This clinical studies database provides basic information on current clinical studies affiliated with the Health Science Center and other health care research entities within the South Texas area.

Go To Database

Web of Science

The UT Health Science Center Library no longer has a current subscription to Web of Science.  Please try Scopus as an alternative.  For instructions on how to use Scopus, please contact the HSC Library, 567-2450 or email AskALibrarian.uthscsa.edu.

scopusmini