Molecular Biology
Current Protocols
The Library subscribes to eight of the eighteen titles that make up the Current Protocols collection. Since accessing the collection directly displays all of the titles, including those for which the Library does not have a subscription, it is recommended that you access these titles through the Library Catalog: just search for “Current Protocols” as a title.

Posted in Cell Biology, Databases, Databases C, Genetics, Immunology, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Pharmacology, Protein Science, Stem Cell Biology | Comments Off
OLDMEDLINE
OLDMEDLINE represents journal article citations from two printed indexes: Cumulated Index Medicus (CIM) and the Current List of Medical Literature (CLML). Created by the National Library of Medicine, these approximately 1,816,000 citations to articles from international biomedical journals cover the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences from 1949 through 1965.
Click here for the OVID Personal Password login.

Posted in Alcoholism, Allied Health, BioChemistry, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Databases, Databases O, Delivery of Health Care, Dentistry, Education, Environmental Health, Ethics, Family Planning, Genetics, Gynecology, Health Education, Health Services, History, History of Medicine, Humanities, Immunology, Medicine, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Nursing, Nutrition, Obstetrics, Organization & Administration, Pharmacology, Protein Science, Psychiatry, Rehabilitation, Social Sciences, Toxicology, Veterinary Medicine | Comments Off
PubChem
PubChem is an Entrez database, from the National Library of Medicine, that provides information on the biological activities of small molecules that is comprised of three individual databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem Bioassay. It is a component of NIH’s Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.

Posted in Biology, Chemistry, Databases, Databases P, Molecular Biology | Comments Off
PubMed
PubMed is a search system from the National Library of Medicine. It includes references from MEDLINE and MEDLINE in Process, as well as a small number of references not included in these databases. It features built-in search filters for diagnosis, therapy, and prognosis, and includes links to databanks of DNA/protein sequence and 3-D structure data. PubMed also links to publishers’ sites for full-text journals, although many of these journals require subscriptions for viewing. Older records (1950-1965) formerly in OLDMEDLINE have also been added to PubMed.

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.


Posted in Alcoholism, Allied Health, BioChemistry, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Databases, Databases P, Delivery of Health Care, Dentistry, Education, Environmental Health, Ethics, Family Planning, Genetics, Gynecology, Health Education, Health Services, History, History of Medicine, Humanities, Immunology, Informatics, Medicine, Mobile, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Nursing, Nutrition, Obstetrics, Occupational Therapy, Oncology, Organization & Administration, Protein Science, Psychiatry, Rehabilitation, Toxicology, Veterinary Medicine | Comments Off
SCOPUS
SCOPUS is an abstract database containing records from peer review titles in the medical, scientific, technical, and social science literature. Full-text patent information is also included. More than half of the journal titles in Scopus are from countries other than the United States and include both journals that are unique to MEDLINE and journals that are unique to EMBASE, the European biomedical database that is particularly strong in drug information.

Posted in Alcoholism, BioChemistry, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Databases, Databases S, Genetics, Immunology, Medicine, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Pharmacology, Protein Science, Research, Research Support, Science, Social Sciences, Statistics, Toxicology | Comments Off
Web of Science
Web of Science is a citation database which combines the information in two print resources: Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. (A tutorial for Web of Science is available at http://scientific.thomson.com/tutorials/wos7/)
- Science Citation Index Expanded indexes more than 5,600 major journals across more than 150 scientific disciplines, including biology, medicine, legal medicine, chemistry, cell biology, microbiology, medical informatics, oncology, psychiatry, toxicology, pharmacology and pharmacy, and physics. The database covers publications from 1955-present.
- The Social Sciences Citation Index covers more than 1,700 of the world’s leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines. It also includes individually selected, relevant items from more than 3,400 of the world’s leading natural and physical science journals. Disciplines covered by SSCI include Geriatrics and Gerontology, Health Policy and Services, Nursing, Rehabilitation, Public Health, Biomedical Social Sciences, Psychology, and Psychiatry. The database covers publications from 1956-present.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index – (UTHSC Library does not subscribe to this index.)

Posted in Agriculture, BioChemistry, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Databases, Databases W, Genetics, Immunology, Medicine, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Pharmacology, Protein Science, Research, Science, Social Sciences, Statistics, Toxicology | Comments Off