Nutrition
AGRICOLA
AGRICultural OnLine Access serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.

Posted in Agriculture, Databases, Databases A, Nutrition, Veterinary Medicine | Comments Off
AGRICOLA (EBSCO)
Agricultural OnLine Access is a database of records from the U.S. National Agriculture Library covering all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including food and nutrition and verterinary science. Citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.

Posted in Agriculture, Databases, Databases A, Nutrition, Veterinary Medicine | Comments Off
Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts® encompasses the entire field of life sciences and provides comprehensive coverage of the world’s published biological and biomedical research. This includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. More than 6.500 serials are monitored for inclusion. The database also includes short communications such as technical notes and letters. Abstracts are provided for full-length articles.

Posted in Biology, Databases, Databases B, Nutrition | Comments Off
MEDLINE – EBSCO
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Citations are included from Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature. Additionally includes table of contents information for 2,400 titles from the British Document Supply Centre.

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.

Posted in Allied Health, Databases, Databases M, Delivery of Health Care, Dentistry, Education, Environmental Health, Health Education, Health Services, History of Medicine, Humanities, Medicine, Mobile, Nursing, Nutrition, Occupational Therapy, Rehabilitation, Social Sciences | Comments Off
OLDMEDLINE
OLDMEDLINE represents journal article citations from two printed indexes: Cumulated Index Medicus (CIM) and the Current List of Medical Literature (CLML). Created by the National Library of Medicine, these approximately 1,816,000 citations to articles from international biomedical journals cover the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences from 1949 through 1965.
Click here for the OVID Personal Password login.

Posted in Alcoholism, Allied Health, BioChemistry, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Databases, Databases O, Delivery of Health Care, Dentistry, Education, Environmental Health, Ethics, Family Planning, Genetics, Gynecology, Health Education, Health Services, History, History of Medicine, Humanities, Immunology, Medicine, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Nursing, Nutrition, Obstetrics, Organization & Administration, Pharmacology, Protein Science, Psychiatry, Rehabilitation, Social Sciences, Toxicology, Veterinary Medicine | Comments Off
Ovid
OvidSP is a user-friendly interface to many of the Library’s biomedical databases. These databases include the following:
Ovid MEDLINE
Ovid MEDLINE In-Process
Ovid OLDMEDLINE
EBM Reviews – ACP Journal Club
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
EBM Reviews – Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
PsycINFO
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Journals@Ovid Full Text
Ovid Healthstar
Biological Abstracts
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Methodology Register
EBM Reviews – Health Technology Assessment
EBM Reviews – NHS Economic Evaluation Database
Click here for the Ovid Personal Password login.


Posted in Biology, Databases, Databases O, Delivery of Health Care, Emergency Health Services, Evidence-Based-Medicine, Health Services, Medicine, Nutrition, Occupational Therapy, Psychiatry, Psychology, Public Health, Research, Science, Uncategorized | Comments Off
PubMed
PubMed is a search system from the National Library of Medicine. It includes references from MEDLINE and MEDLINE in Process, as well as a small number of references not included in these databases. It features built-in search filters for diagnosis, therapy, and prognosis, and includes links to databanks of DNA/protein sequence and 3-D structure data. PubMed also links to publishers’ sites for full-text journals, although many of these journals require subscriptions for viewing. Older records (1950-1965) formerly in OLDMEDLINE have also been added to PubMed.

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.


Posted in Alcoholism, Allied Health, BioChemistry, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Databases, Databases P, Delivery of Health Care, Dentistry, Education, Environmental Health, Ethics, Family Planning, Genetics, Gynecology, Health Education, Health Services, History, History of Medicine, Humanities, Immunology, Informatics, Medicine, Mobile, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Nursing, Nutrition, Obstetrics, Occupational Therapy, Oncology, Organization & Administration, Protein Science, Psychiatry, Rehabilitation, Toxicology, Veterinary Medicine | Comments Off
SCOPUS
SCOPUS is an abstract database containing records from peer review titles in the medical, scientific, technical, and social science literature. Full-text patent information is also included. More than half of the journal titles in Scopus are from countries other than the United States and include both journals that are unique to MEDLINE and journals that are unique to EMBASE, the European biomedical database that is particularly strong in drug information.
- Over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
- Contains 49 million records
- Provides 100% Medline coverage
Within the 49 million records are:
- 28 million records back to 1996 (of which 78%include citing and cited references)
- 21 million records pre-1996 which go back as far as 1823 (these do not include cited references)
- 5.3 million conference papers from proceedings and journals

Posted in Alcoholism, BioChemistry, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Databases, Databases S, Genetics, Immunology, Medicine, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Pharmacology, Protein Science, Research, Research Support, Science, Social Sciences, Statistics, Toxicology | Comments Off
USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference
The Nutrient Data Laboratory (NDL) is one of several units in the Beltsville Human Nutrition Research Center (BHNRC) of the Agricultural Research Service (ARS). NDL and its predecessor organizations in USDA have been compiling and developing food composition databases for over a century. NDL includes a Ground Beef Calculator, individual food reports and nutrient lists.

Posted in Databases, Databases U, Nutrition | Comments Off
Web of Science
Web of Science is a citation database which combines the information in two print resources: Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. (A tutorial for Web of Science is available at http://scientific.thomson.com/tutorials/wos7/)
- Science Citation Index Expanded indexes more than 5,600 major journals across more than 150 scientific disciplines, including biology, medicine, legal medicine, chemistry, cell biology, microbiology, medical informatics, oncology, psychiatry, toxicology, pharmacology and pharmacy, and physics. The database covers publications from 1955-present.
- The Social Sciences Citation Index covers more than 1,700 of the world’s leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines. It also includes individually selected, relevant items from more than 3,400 of the world’s leading natural and physical science journals. Disciplines covered by SSCI include Geriatrics and Gerontology, Health Policy and Services, Nursing, Rehabilitation, Public Health, Biomedical Social Sciences, Psychology, and Psychiatry. The database covers publications from 1956-present.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index – (UTHSC Library does not subscribe to this index.)

Posted in Agriculture, BioChemistry, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Databases, Databases W, Genetics, Immunology, Medicine, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Pharmacology, Protein Science, Research, Science, Social Sciences, Statistics, Toxicology | Comments Off