Organization & Administration

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, it covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet. Searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals are also included. CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full text of 337 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.

CINAHL QR Code

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.

Go to Database

Database Help Button

HCUPnet: Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project

HCUPnet is a free on-line query system that allows instant access to the largest set of all-payer health care databases (1997-2005) that are publicly available. Using HCUPnet’s easy step-by-step query system, you may generate tables and graphs on national and regional statistics and trends for community hospitals in the U.S. In addition, community hospital data are available for those States that have agreed to participate in HCUPnet. HCUPnet is based on aggregate statistics tables to speed up data transfer and protect individual records, so not all possible queries can be addressed. HCUPnet is part of the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUPnet generates statistics using data from HCUP’s Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS), the Kids’ Inpatient Database (KID), and the State Inpatient Databases (SID).

Go to Database

Health Reference Center Academic

Provides access to personal health information sources plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals. Integrates the full text and images of nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, newspaper articles, topical overviews, and reference books.

Go to Database

MEDLINE in Process

MEDLINE in Process is a small, rolling database of information that is being prepared for inclusion in MEDLINE.

Go to Database

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus allows health professionals and consumers access to information about specific diseases and conditions, and also has links to consumer health information from the National Institutes of Health, clearinghouses, dictionaries, lists of hospitals and physicians, health information in Spanish and other languages, and clinical trials.

PubMed QR Code

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.

 

Go to Database

OLDMEDLINE

OLDMEDLINE represents journal article citations from two printed indexes: Cumulated Index Medicus (CIM) and the Current List of Medical Literature (CLML). Created by the National Library of Medicine, these approximately 1,816,000 citations to articles from international biomedical journals cover the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences from 1949 through 1965.

Click here for the OVID Personal Password login.

Go to Database

PsycINFO

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2.5 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 2,300 periodicals in more than 30 languages. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology, and others.

go to databases

PubMed

PubMed is a search system from the National Library of Medicine. It includes references from MEDLINE and MEDLINE in Process, as well as a small number of references not included in these databases. It features built-in search filters for diagnosis, therapy, and prognosis, and includes links to databanks of DNA/protein sequence and 3-D structure data. PubMed also links to publishers’ sites for full-text journals, although many of these journals require subscriptions for viewing. Older records (1950-1965) formerly in OLDMEDLINE have also been added to PubMed.

PubMed QR Code

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.

 

Database Help Button

Regional Business News

Covers approximately 75 publications with news from rural and metropolitan areas, types of publications include newswires, newspapers, and business journals. Current and archived business news is available.

go to database

SUMSearch

SUMSearch is an Internet search engine for medical knowledge developed at the UT Health Science Center by Dr. Robert Badgett. It selects the best resources among several full-text books and biomedical databases for the question, formats the question for each resource, and makes additional searches based on results.

Go To Database