Databases

National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature (NRCBL)

This site, hosted by the Kennedy Institute for Ethics at Georgetown University, is dedicated to collecting and organizing access to bioethics literature. Represents world’s largest collection related to ethical issues in medicine and biomedical research.

Links to bioethics information in NRCBL databases (ETHX on the web and Genetics and Ethics) and NLM databases (PubMed — which can be limited to a bioethics subset, NLM Locator, and the NLM catalog), are provided. Free and Open to the Public.

Go to Database

National Security Archives

This free resource from George Washington University collects and publishes declassified documents obtained under the Freedom of Information Act.

Go to Database

Natural Standard

Natural Standard provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. The mission of this collaboration is to address issues of safety and efficacy that directly pertain to the questions raised by clinicians, patients, and healthcare institutions. Natural Standard is an impartial service and is not supported by any interest group, professional organization, or pharmaceutical manufacturer.

Click to view the demonstration video.

Go to Database

NetAnatomy

NetAnatomy includes Radiographic Anatomy, Cross-Sectional Anatomy and Gross Anatomy. It teaches human anatomy to students of the health professions, including undergraduate medical, health sciences, and nursing students. NetAnatomy also serves as a place to review anatomy after one’s initial exposure to the subject, e.g. students beginning a clinical rotation or USMLE (National Board) preparation.

Go to Database

Netter Presenter

Netter Presenter contains images from the Netter: Atlas of Human Anatomy 5th Edition in a presentationand study format.

Go to Database

Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 350 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

Go to Database

NLM’s History of Medicine Archives

This system provides access to the nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Go to Database

North American Women’s Letters and Diaries

North American Women’s Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Coverage spans more than 300 years and brings the personal experiences of women to researchers, students and general readers.

Go to Database

OBGYN.net Image Library

This site is devoted entirely to providing access to images of interest to women’s health.

Go to Database

OLDMEDLINE

OLDMEDLINE represents journal article citations from two printed indexes: Cumulated Index Medicus (CIM) and the Current List of Medical Literature (CLML). Created by the National Library of Medicine, these approximately 1,816,000 citations to articles from international biomedical journals cover the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences from 1949 through 1965.

Click here for the OVID Personal Password login.

Go to Database

OT Search

OT Search is a bibliographic database covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas, such as rehabilitation, education, psychiatry or psychology and health care delivery or administration. The full text of the indexed resources is not in this database, just the bibliographic information to identify the material and the author’s abstract when one exists.

go to databases

OT Seeker

OTseeker is a database of abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist therapists to evaluate their validity and interpretability.

go to database

OTCATS: Occupational Therapy Critically Appraised Topics

This free resource from Occupational Therapy Australia is a collection of critically appraised topics and papers focusing on occupational therapy interventions.

go to database

Ovid

OvidSP is a user-friendly interface to many of the Library’s biomedical databases. These databases include the following:

Ovid MEDLINE
Ovid MEDLINE In-Process
Ovid OLDMEDLINE
EBM Reviews – ACP Journal Club
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
EBM Reviews – Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
PsycINFO
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Journals@Ovid Full Text
Ovid Healthstar
Biological Abstracts
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Methodology Register
EBM Reviews – Health Technology Assessment
EBM Reviews – NHS Economic Evaluation Database

Click here for the Ovid Personal Password login.

Database Help Button

P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library

Interior photograph of the Nixon Library

 

Monday-Friday Saturday Sunday
8:00 a.m. – 5 p.m. Closed Closed

There is no charge to view the collections. If you have specific research needs call or e-mail to make an appointment, as some materials are located remotely.

Address & Contact Information

7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio TX, 78248
5th floor, Briscoe Library
(210) 567-2400

The Special Collections of the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library

San Antonio physician and historian Dr. Pat Ireland Nixon lent his name to what is now a treasure-trove of antiquarian texts, dating from the 15th to the early 20th century. Ophthalmology, surgery, and anatomy are particular strengths of the Nixon Library. Also contained within the Special Collections are classic European and early American first editions, such as Nightingale’s Notes on Nursing and Darwin’s On the Origin of Species. A number of magnificent anatomical atlases feature illustrations that qualify as works of art in their own right.

Photograph of Dr Charleen Moore and two students during the 2007 elective History of AnatomyOriginally donated to the Health Science Center in the early 1970s by the Bexar County Medical Society, the superb core collection has expanded to contain close to 5000 volumes of treasured medical texts, including important works by Vesalius (De Humani Corporis Fabrica – 1543), Albinus (Tables of the Skeleton and Muscles of the Human Body – 1749), Celsus (De Medicina – 1481), Avicenna (The Canon of Medicine – 1486), Burton (Anatomy of Melancholy – 1632), and Hooke (The Micrographia – 1667).

The library regularly features holdings in the Treasures of the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library Blog

Tours of the Nixon Library, including viewings of rare books within subject areas, can be arranged by contacting Assistant Director for Special Collections Anne Comeaux at (210) 567-2428 or email comeaux@uthscsa.edu. Selected materials from the Nixon Library may also be viewed online in the UTHSC Digital Archive / History of Medicine Collection and the Portal to Texas History.

Policies for the Use of Materials in the Special Collections

 

Visit the Digital Archive

About the Image: 4th year medical students Nadine Terrazas and Robyn Treadwell visit the P.I. Nixon Library in April 2007 during the senior medical school elective, History of Anatomy In Situ, directed by Charleen M. Moore, PhD, Professor in the Department of Cellular and Structural Biology.

The Friends of the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library

The Nixon Library has an active Friends group that meets regularly for lectures, films, and dinners. Membership is open to all. For more information, visit the Friends page.

Popular books on the history of medicine

The Friends of the P.I. Nixon Library have purchased a collection of popular books on the history of medicine. The books highlight significant periods and events in medical history and are located in the library’s general collection. To view a complete list of titles and locations click here.

Library ExhibitsIllustration of a man using a dog to pull out a mandrake

Exhibits on medical historical topics are researched and mounted for the Health Science Center by various Special Collections staff. These displays are available as traveling exhibitions to other institutions as an educational service offered by the Library.  The Library also sometimes mounts exhibits from sources outside the Health Science Center.  Contact Jonquil Fieldman, Director of Briscoe Library and Outreach Services, at email feldman@uthscsa.edu or (210) 567-2430 if you have an exhibit you would like displayed in the library.

About the Image: A man uses a dog to pull a mandrake from the ground from Histoire de la medecine, de la pharmacie, de l’art dentaire et de l’art veterinaire by Jacques Poulet, Jean-Charles Sournia, and Marcel Martiny. (Click image for larger view.) This book is available to view in the P.I. Nixon Library.

University Archives and Local History Materials

Bexar County and South Texas have a rich medical heritage. The University Archives houses historical records of the University and the development of medicine in Bexar County and South Texas. The Archives provides a reference service for the Health Science Center community and a repository for the preservation of historically important University records.

You can find detailed information about many of our archival collections at Texas Archival Resources Online.

Included in the collection are:

  • University publications
  • correspondence of key officials
  • minutes
  • student yearbooks
  • papers of early San Antonio physicians
  • and more

The Special Collections staff actively seek to acquire materials related to the history of medicine, including:

  • manuscripts
  • journals and account books of local physicians
  • photographs of area hospitals and health practitioners
  • records of local medical organizations

Persons owning such materials are encouraged to donate them so that they may be preserved and made available for research. The community is also reminded that materials that do not seem valuable today may provide an important historical insight in the future.

For more information about the archives or to make an appointment to view archival materials, contact Library Archival Assistant Mellisa DeThorne at 210-567-2470, email dethorne@uthscsa.edu or Assistant Director for Special Collections Anne Comeaux at 210-567-2428, email comeaux@uthscsa.edu.