Databases

PubChem

PubChem is an Entrez database, from the National Library of Medicine, that provides information on the biological activities of small molecules that is comprised of three individual databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem Bioassay. It is a component of NIH’s Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.

go to database

PubGene

PubGene, a free public access Web resource, provides users with a graphical interface to access database information, primarily from MEDLINE, that catalogs the occurrence of symbols and phrases identifying complex relationships between genes, RNA transcripts, proteins, mutations, chemical compounds, pathways, or diseases in the scientific literature. PubGene uses text mining to search the abstract texts of 25 million PubMed articles for co-citation of multiple genes or proteins and displays them as “Literature Networks,” where nodes represent each gene or protein and the connecting lines represent the number of articles in which each gene or protein pair is co-cited.

go to database

Public STINET (Scientific and Technical Information Network)

Free version of Scientific and Technical Information Network (STINET), providing access to citations of unclassified unlimited documents that have been entered into the Defense Technical Information Center’s Technical Reports Collection, as well as the electronic full-text of many of these documents. Public STINET also provides access to the Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals, Staff College Automated Military Periodical Index, DoD Index to Specifications and Standards, and Research and Development Descriptive Summaries.

go to database

PubMed

PubMed is a search system from the National Library of Medicine. It includes references from MEDLINE and MEDLINE in Process, as well as a small number of references not included in these databases. It features built-in search filters for diagnosis, therapy, and prognosis, and includes links to databanks of DNA/protein sequence and 3-D structure data. PubMed also links to publishers’ sites for full-text journals, although many of these journals require subscriptions for viewing. Older records (1950-1965) formerly in OLDMEDLINE have also been added to PubMed.

PubMed QR Code

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.

 

Database Help Button

PubMed Central

PubMed Central is the barrier-free NIH repository for peer-reviewed primary research reports in the life sciences, which began accepting journal articles in January 2000. Over 500,000 full-text articles are available in HTML and PDF formats.

go to database

Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM)

From the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), new downloadable online diagnostic and treatment toolkit designed for health care providers and primarily physicians who may have to provide medical care during a radiological/nuclear event.

go to database

Radiologic Anatomy

Interactive program covering the fundamentals of normal radiology.

go to database

Rare Anatomical Texts on View in Nixon Library April 15

Tables of the skeleton and muscles of the human body by Bernhard Siegfried Albinus

Tables of the skeleton and muscles of the human body by Bernhard Siegfried Albinus

The P. I. Nixon Medical Historical Library will display rare anatomical and other texts in the collection on Tuesday, April 15th, from 4 to 6 pm.   The library is located on the 5th floor of the Briscoe Library on the Long Campus of the UT Health Science Center.

Forty-two books from the 15th—18th centuries will be on display including Albinus’ Tables of the skeleton and muscles of the human body, Charles Bell’s Illustrations of the great operations of surgery, Harvey’s Anatomical exercitations concerning the generation of living creatures, Hooke’s Micrographia,  John Hunter’s The natural history of the human teeth, William Hunter’s Anatomia uteri humani gravidi tabulis illustrate, and Vesalius’ De humani corporis fabrica libri septem.

These books are rarely on display, so come take the opportunity to enjoy them.

 

Recommended 4th-Year Electives by Specialty

Lists, by speciality, of 4th-year rotations recommended for medical students interested in particular career paths. These lists were compiled by the Texas A&M Health Science Center, and some aspects reflect their own school’s requirements.

go to database

RefWorks

RefWorks, a Web-based bibliographic management program, allows you to download references from a database such as Ovid using a direct export feature. It also allows you to import a text file of citations or add citations by hand, and then, using Word (for Windows or Mac), HTML, Rich Text Format, or Text, import them as in-text citations into a written document. RefWorks can then generate a formatted bibliography, in addition to a subject bibliography.

In order to use RefWorks, you will need to fill out a brief form to create a free account for yourself. You will then use the username and password you create to sign into RefWorks, even while on campus.

Regional Business News

Covers approximately 75 publications with news from rural and metropolitan areas, types of publications include newswires, newspapers, and business journals. Current and archived business news is available.

go to database

REHABDATA

Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, REHABDATA is a literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 70,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.

go to database

Religion and Philosophy

A comprehensive database offering more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.

go to database

RePORTER

The CRISP system has been replaced by the RePORT Expenditures and Results (RePORTER) query tool. This new tool retains all of the features of CRISP while providing additional query fields, hit lists that can be sorted and downloaded to Excel, NIH funding for each project (expenditures), and the publications and patents that have acknowledged support from each project (results). RePORTER also provides links toPubMed CentralPubMed, and the US Patent & Trademark Office Patent Full Text and Image Database for more information on research results.

go to database

Salud en Español

Salud en Español es la interfase de EBSCO diseñada para el usuario cotidiano de información sobre el cuidado de la salud en Español. Salud provee un acceso conveniente a información médica y de salud de fácil comprensión.

Salud en Español is EBSCO’s interface designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. Salud en Español provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information in Spanish.

go to database