Databases

SciELO – Scientific Electronic Library Online

SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) provides free access to journal literature from Brazil, Cuba, Chile, Spain and Venezuela. Subject areas include Animal and Veterinary Science, Engineering, Health Sciences, Odontology, Psychology, Psychiatry, Public Health and Social Sciences. The original literature is available full text in either Spanish or Portuguese, and many articles are also available in English.

go to database

Science & Technology Collection

Science and Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.

go to database

SciFinder

Information contained in SciFinder is from the CAS databases produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service. SciFinder also provides access to patient information, conference proceedings, and the CAS Registry of Chemical Substances. This resource also covers biology, life sciences, food sciences, engineering, physics, and other sciences.

Access to SciFinder requires registration first!  Here are instructions:

  • Access to SciFinder is restricted to currently enrolled students and current appointed faculty and staff at UT Health Science Center San Antonio.
  • During account setup, you will be asked to provide a valid personal email address ending in uthscsa.edu. If your preferred email provider is an external system such as gmail, your campus mail account must be set to forward to your preferred account.
  • Your user name must be unique and contain 5-15 characters. It can contain only letters or a combination of letters, numbers, and/or these special characters: – (dash); _ (underscore); . (period); @ (at symbol). Your password must contain 7-15 characters and include at least three of the following: letters; mixed upper- and lowercase letters; numbers; non-alphanumeric characters such as @ # % & *
  • A confirmation email will be sent to the address you provide, containing an IP-restricted link that you must follow to complete the process. (If you are off campus, you must have a proxied browser session or the link won’t work.)
  • Only one user account is allowed per email address.
  • The UT Health Science Center San Antonio Library will not know your password. Be sure to answer the secret question so you can retrieve your password if you forget it.
  • Each individual must have his/her own SciFinder account. As with all personal data, never share your username and password with anyone else. CAS will delete accounts that it suspects are shared or abusive.
  • Academic use of SciFinder is restricted by conditions you agree to upon logging in. Please read and be aware of these conditions. CAS actively monitors searching activity for evidence of abuse.

Register here

go to database

Scirus

Freely accessible, Scirus is a comprehensive science-specific search engine. Coverage includes journal sources, institutional repositories, pre-print server material, scientific web pages and much more.

go to database

SciVal Experts

A system designed to evaluate, establish, and execute research strategies within an institution and beyond. SciVal Experts identifies the scholarly expertise of the UT HSC San Antonio research community through researcher profiles that track research trends and publications. SciVal Experts also helps researchers identify funding opportunities and prospective research collaborations.

This database is provided by the Institute for Integration of Medicine and Science.

Need help?

Video tutorials are available for SciVal Experts.

go to database

SciVal Funding

A tool that helps researchers, administrators and research development professionals find new funding opportunities. Also allows users to gain awareness of new sponsors that match individual research interests.

This database is provided by the Institute for Integration of Medicine and Science.

Need help?

Video tutorials are available for SciVal Funding.

SCOPUS

SCOPUS is an abstract database containing records from peer review titles in the medical, scientific, technical, and social science literature. Full-text patent information is also included. More than half of the journal titles in Scopus are from countries other than the United States and include both journals that are unique to MEDLINE and journals that are unique to EMBASE, the European biomedical database that is particularly strong in drug information.

  • Over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
  • Contains 49 million records
  • Provides 100% Medline coverage

Within the 49 million records are:

  • 28 million records back to 1996 (of which 78%include citing and cited references)
  • 21 million records pre-1996 which go back as far as 1823 (these do not include cited references)
  • 5.3 million conference papers from proceedings and journals

go to database

Serials Directory

The Serials Directory provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This invaluable resource is made available via EBSCOhost®. It contains nearly 212,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 108,235 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry.

Go To Database

Social Work Abstracts

The Social Work Abstracts database, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains more than 45,000 records, spanning from 1977 to the present, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.

Go To Database

Stat!Ref Electronic Medical Library

Stat!Ref Electronic Medical Library provides quick access to a number of full-text medical reference books covering the areas of diagnosis and treatment in a variety of medical specialties, such as Psychiatry, Geriatrics, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Cardiology, and Surgery. Texts on coding, drug information, and abbreviations and acronyms are also available.

This database is also available mobily.

Stat!Ref QR Code

Go To Database

SUMSearch

SUMSearch is an Internet search engine for medical knowledge developed at the UT Health Science Center by Dr. Robert Badgett. It selects the best resources among several full-text books and biomedical databases for the question, formats the question for each resource, and makes additional searches based on results.

Go To Database

TDNet

TDNet provides links to full-text resources in databases provided through TexShare. Note: the UTHSCSA Library does not subscribe to all of the products referenced by TDNet, so not all of these e-journals may be available in full text to UTHSC affiliates.

Go To Database

Texas Cancer Data Center (TCDC)

The Texas Cancer Data Center (TCDC) includes information on health professionals, health facilities, demographics and statistics, and community resources via the Internet at no charge. TCDC is funded by the Texas Cancer Council, the state agency whose goal is to improve the availability and quality of cancer services and information in Texas.

Go To Database

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps

These digitized maps are detailed property and land-use records that depicts the architecture of U.S. towns and cities throughout the past one hundred years. Search for the maps by typing in the state or community. One a map is obtained, they pinpoint the streets, landmarks, and other places noted in the map’s index. Once displayed, the maps can be manipulated, expanded, printed, and downloaded.

Go To Database

Texas Reference Center

Texas Reference Center includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. The database contains biographies as well as newspapers containing Texas and national news coverage.

Go To Database