Databases

TOPICsearch

Current events database covering social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms.

Go To Database

TOXNET

TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork) is a computerized system of files oriented to toxicology and related areas. It is managed by the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP).

PubMed QR Code

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.

go to database

TRIP

TRIP is a search engine for evidence-based medicine. The aim of the TRIP Database is to allow health professionals to easily find the highest-quality material available on the web in support of evidence-based practice.

For direct linking to the UTHSC journals, log in to TRIP and select our institution from the drop-down menu. Full Text: HSCLink will appear under citations.

Go TO Database

Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory

Ulrichsweb is the online version of the Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory. With both an advanced search and a browse feature (subject or index), Ulrichsweb gives users access to extensive serials information for each journal title including links to tables of contents, article abstracts, journal full-text when available, and document delivery. Information associated with each journal also covers current status (active, suspended, ceased), electronic availability, referred (peer reviewed) status, and journal impact factor.

Go To Database

UpToDate

UpToDate is an electronic, full-text clinical resource that provides instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked questions in clinical practice. Specialties covered in depth by UpToDate include Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Family Practice, Gynecology, Infectious Diseases, Oncology, Pediatrics, Women’s Health, and others. Original material in UpToDate is written by an international faculty of practicing clinicians who are experts in their specialties.

Remote access is not available. It is available only on computers connected to the UTHSC network or HSCWave — not the BriscoeWiFi wireless network.

Go To Database

USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference

The Nutrient Data Laboratory (NDL) is one of several units in the Beltsville Human Nutrition Research Center (BHNRC) of the Agricultural Research Service (ARS). NDL and its predecessor organizations in USDA have been compiling and developing food composition databases for over a century. NDL includes a Ground Beef Calculator, individual food reports and nutrient lists.

Go To Database

UT Health Science Center San Antonio Clinical Studies

The University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio conducts clinical studies to evaluate experimental treatments and therapies. Many studies are open to persons who fit specific profiles. This clinical studies database provides basic information on current clinical studies affiliated with the Health Science Center and other health care research entities within the South Texas area.

Go To Database

Visible Human Project

The cross-sectional images, MRIs, and CTs from the Visible Human Project have been specifically selected for integration into the Structure of the Human Body curriculum at the Stritch School of Medicine.

Go To Database

Vocational and Career Collection

Available through EBSCO, Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries serving high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. The collection provides full text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry-related periodicals including Health Informatics Journal, Pediatric Nursing, Qualitative Health Research, Journal of Transcultural Nursing, Journal of Family Nursing, Hospital Topics, Evaluation & the Health Professions, Physical Therapy, andAdvertising Age. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.

Go To Database

Web of Science

The UT Health Science Center Library no longer has a current subscription to Web of Science.  Please try Scopus as an alternative.  For instructions on how to use Scopus, please contact the HSC Library, 567-2450 or email AskALibrarian.uthscsa.edu.

scopusmini

WebAnatomy

Collection of study aids for entry-level anatomy and physiology students. Created at the University of Minnesota.

Go to Database

Wellcome Images

Includes the Biomedical Collection, which holds over 40,000 high-quality images from the clinical and biomedical sciences. Selected from the UK’s leading teaching hospitals and research institutions, it covers disease, surgery, general healthcare, sciences from genetics to neuroscience including the full range of imaging techniques.

Go to Database

Whole Brain Atlas

The Atlas is intended as an introduction to basic neuroanatomy, with emphasis on the pathoanatomy of several leading central nervous system diseases.

Go to Database

WinkingSkull.com

Free, interactive human anatomy study aid. Winkingskull includes a feature to print images for flashcard study.

Go to Database

WISER

WISER is a system designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice.WISER is available on the web as WebWISER and also provides support for PDA browsers, including BlackBerry, Pocket PC, Palm, iPhone, and many other phones.

Go to Database