Databases

American Medical Informatics Association: Alliance for Nursing Informatics

The ANI works to advance nursing informatics practice, education, policy and research through a unified voice of nursing informatics organizations.

Go to Database

American Nursing Informatics Association (ANIA)

ANIA provides networking, education, and information resources for nurses in the role of informatics.

Go to Database

American Periodicals Series Online, 1741-1900

American Periodicals Series Online, 1741-1900 spans over 1,500 titles and 7 million pages of content, from the first American magazines, published in 1741, to the World War II period — 200 years of American history as recorded in magazines, journals, and newspapers.

Go to Database

American Society of Hematology Image Bank

The ASH Image Bank is a reference and teaching tool accessible to physicians and hematology students around the world.

Go to Database

An@tomy.tv

Anatomy TV provides a database of detailed 3D interactive anatomy models. Models include the head and neck, shoulder, hip, thorax and abdomen, spine, knee, and pelvis and perineum. An Anatomy Study Guide is included.

Go to Database

Anatomy Atlases

Digital library of anatomy information and contains full color digitized books on anatomy and first aid.

Go to Database

Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC)

This site provides information on the performance of a database search for the use of animals in research. According to USDA, APHIS, Animal Care Policy #12, “a comprehensive search is an effective and efficient method for demonstrating compliance with the requirement to consider alternatives to painful/distressful procedures.

Go to Database

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews is a collection of authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Subject areas include Biomedical Engineering, Public Health, Pathology, Physiology, and Genetics and Genomics.

Go to Database

Anthropological Index Online

Anthropological Index Online is based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the The British Museum (formerly Museum of Mankind) which receives periodicals in all branches of anthropology, from academic institutions and publishers around the world.

Go to Database

APGO Residency Directory

The Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO) is a non-profit membership-based organization for women’s health educators.

Password Protected: Obtain this code by contacting the Library Information Desk Staff at (210) 567-2450.

Go to Database

ARTstor

ARTstor is a collection of over 500,000 digital images of art, architecture, and related material for use in research and teaching. Collections include the Art History Survey Collection, the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts, the MOMA Architecture and Design Collection, the Carnegie Arts of the U.S., and the Huntington Archive of Asian Arts. Included with each image is descriptive information such as title, creator, date, size, and current location. ARTstor also provides tools to create web pages, presentations, and study guides.

Pop-up blockers must be disabled to use ARTstor. ARTstor also features Instructor Privileges to allow instructors to create folders of images for use in lectures. Obtain the privileges access code by contacting the UTHSCSA Library Information Desk Staff at 210-567-2450.

Go to Database

Atlas of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy

A collection of endoscopic images in health and disease, annotated with patient descriptions. An educational resource for physicians, patients, and the simply curious.

Go to Database

Basic Genetics

An online course covering the basic concepts of genetics and non-Mendelian inheritance.

Go to Database

Bates Physical Exams

Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 4th edition is based on the Bates Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by the late Barbara Bates. It is a teaching resource consisting of 18 anatomy and system specific modules which show step-by-step examinations with rationales for the clinician’s actions. It includes expanded discussions of health history taking, documentation, communication, and patient/practitioner interactions.

Go to Database

Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA)

A bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 110,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present. The database is an essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal and medical researchers, linguists, theologians, ethnobotanists, and policy makers. BNNA will appeal to anyone interested in exploring the contributions, struggles, and issues surrounding North America’s indigenous peoples.

Go to Database