Databases

BioDigital Human Anatomy 3D

The BioDigital Human is a 3D anatomy site for the study of anatomy, disease, and treatments. The free version contains standard interactive features.  Interactive tools for exploring, dissecting, and sharing custom views, combined with detailed medical descriptions provide a visual format to learn about the body.   Male and female images are available.  The BioDigital Human allows students and medical professionals to see a format that resembles real life.  The free version is linked and personal upgrade options are available.

Technical note from BioDigital FAQs: Chrome and Firefox currently support the 3D Graphics required by the BioDigital Human. They are freely available. The Human will also be supported in the upcoming release of Safari 6.0. Unfortunately, the HTML5 standard for 3D graphics (WebGL) is not yet supported by Internet Explorer or by mobile browsers.

Go to BioDigital Database

Biological Abstracts

Biological Abstracts® encompasses the entire field of life sciences and provides comprehensive coverage of the world’s published biological and biomedical research. This includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. More than 6.500 serials are monitored for inclusion. The database also includes short communications such as technical notes and letters. Abstracts are provided for full-length articles.

Go to Database

BioMed Central

Digital full text archive peer reviewed research from over 100 life sciences journals managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information at the United States National Library of Medicine. Various dates of coverage are provided. Subjects include: Biology, Genetics & Life Sciences; E-Journals, Books & Newspapers; Health, Medicine & Psychology; Publicly Available Resources; and Science & Technology.

Go to Database

BloodLine Image Atlas

The first installment of this fully searchable directory features more than 800 hematological slides depicting various blood disorders and malignancies.

Go to Database

Bones of the Skull

Consists of a collection of 3D object movies of the skull and its individual bones, and an interactive textbook containing high-quality 2-D images, descriptive text, and many interactive activities to encourage mastery of the content.

Go to Database

Business Source Complete

A scholarly business database which provides a collection of bibliographic and full text content. Business Source® Complete contains active, peer-reviewed, business related journals. Coverage includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is a solid database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.

Go to Database

Canadian Nursing Informatics Association (CNIA)

The CNIA offers links to associations, journals, and educational opportunities for nurses interested in informatics.

Go to Database

Cancerlit

CANCERLIT is a bibliographic database that contains citations and abstracts for cancer literature from over 4,000 different sources, including biomedical journals, proceedings, books, reports, and doctoral theses. Beginning in June 1983, cancer-specific records from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) MEDLINE database, were incorporated into CANCERLIT. This database reflects the 2002 version of MeSH. The database is produced by the National Cancer Institute’s International Cancer Information Center.

Go to Database

Cardiosource Plus

An online cardiovascular information and educational resource produced by the American College of Cardiology Foundation. Cardiosource enables cardiovascular professionals to easily stay up-to-date with the most relevant research findings and best practices, with analysis and commentary by experts in the field to help put the findings in perspective for immediate application in practice.

Individual registration required for full access to the entire site. UTHSC Library maintains institutional subscription. Available to UTHSC students, faculty, and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.

Go to Database

CareerMD

CareerMD.com is a free tool on career planning for medical students, residents, fellows and new physicians.

Go to Database

Catalog of Clinical Images

A web-based collection of physical examination findings.

Go to Database

CDC SNAPS

SNAPS provides local-level community profile information nationwide. It can be browsed by county and state and searched by zip code. Replace this template text with a brief but informative description of the database.

Go to Database

CDC Wonder

CDC Wonder (Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research) is a free database from the Centers from Disease Control featuring public health data.

Go to Database

Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management

CHEMM is produced by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response, Office of Planning and Emergency Operations, in cooperation with the National Library of Medicine, Division of Specialized Information Services, and many medical, emergency response, toxicology, and other types of experts.

The purpose of CHEMM is to:

  • Enable first responders, first receivers, other healthcare providers, and planners to plan for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the effects of mass-casualty incidents involving chemicals
  • Provide a comprehensive, user-friendly, web-based resource that is also downloadable in advance, so that it would be available during an event if the internet is not accessible

Go to Database

Chromosomal Variation in Man

Database reviewing the world literature on all common and rare chromosomal alterations and abnormalities. Coverage is divided into three main subject areas: variations and anomalies, numerical anomalies, and chromosomal breakage syndromes. The database documents information on the availability of mutant cell lines and presents chromosome alterations with a list that cross-references band numbers.

Go to Database