Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, it covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet. Searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals are also included. CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full text of 337 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.

CINAHL QR Code

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.

Go to Database

Database Help Button

Clinical Human Embryology

Explores the development of human systems from conception to birth.

Go to Database

ClinicalTrials.gov

National Library of Medicine ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. It gives the trial’s purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.

Go to Database

Cochrane

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH) includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types:

  • Complete reviews – Regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review
  • Groups Protocols – Protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion).
  • Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Library consists of several evidence-based medicine databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, DARE, CENTRAL (the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials), the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.

This multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the three Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE).

Go to Database

Community Health Status Indicators – CHSI

The CHSI report includes more than 200 measures for each of the 3,141 United States counties. It includes data on access and utilization of healthcare services, birth and death measures, Healthy People 2010 targets and U.S. birth and death rates, vulnerable populations, risk-factors for premature deaths, communicable diseases and environmental health. It allows for comparisons of a county to peer counties, U.S. rates, and Healthy People 2010 targets.

Go to Database

Computer Source

Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics and software. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.

Go to Database

Computer-assisted Learning in Pediatrics Program (CLIPP)

Contains thirty-two interactive virtual patient cases that are designed to cover all of the core content of the curriculum of the Council on Medical Student Education in Pediatrics (COMSEP).

Free registration is required.

Go to Database

Contemporary Authors

Contemporary Authors is a full text resource to help researchers discover biographic details on approximately 112,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Current writers, as well as the most-studied literary figures of the early 20th century, and authors from around the world whose works have been translated into English or published in the United States are featured in this award-winning reference resource.

Go to Database

Contemporary Literary Criticism – Select

Contemporary Literary Criticism–Select is an extensive collection of more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Each CLC–Select entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, a list of principal works, critical essays, and sources for further study. CLC-Select is updated monthly.

Go to Database

DailyMed

DailyMed, from the National Library of Medicine, provides information about marketed drugs. It also provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. This site does not contain a complete listing of labels for approved prescription drugs.

Go to Database

DermaPathTutor

A tutorial in dermatologic pathology.

Go to Database

Dermatology Atlas

Dermatology atlas created by Loyola University.

Go to Database

DermIS

A comprehensive online dermatology information service for healthcare professionals and patients. Contains information about specific conditions as well as adult and pediatric atlases.

Go to Database

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Profiles the lives and careers of authors from all areas and genres. Each entry contains personal data, principal works, and sources for further study.

Go to Database

Dietary Supplements Labels Database

The Dietary Supplements Labels Database, from the National Library of Medicine, offers information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to determine what ingredients are in specific brands and to compare ingredients in different brands.

Go to Database