Databases

Hardin MD Medical Pictures/Disease Pictures

Gallery of medical images hosted by Hardin Medical Library, University of Iowa.

Go to Database

HarpWeek

HarpWeek contains the indexes and text of Harper’s Weekly, with full text images and search capabilities for issues from 1857 through 1912. The developer of this electronic resource describes Harper’s Weekly as “the only consistent, comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened world-wide in the last half of the nineteenth century. The size of the Weekly’s pages prohibits the use of standard Internet browser print functions at this time. A special print application has been installed on several Library computers.

Go to Database

HCUPnet: Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project

HCUPnet is a free on-line query system that allows instant access to the largest set of all-payer health care databases (1997-2005) that are publicly available. Using HCUPnet’s easy step-by-step query system, you may generate tables and graphs on national and regional statistics and trends for community hospitals in the U.S. In addition, community hospital data are available for those States that have agreed to participate in HCUPnet. HCUPnet is based on aggregate statistics tables to speed up data transfer and protect individual records, so not all possible queries can be addressed. HCUPnet is part of the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUPnet generates statistics using data from HCUP’s Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS), the Kids’ Inpatient Database (KID), and the State Inpatient Databases (SID).

Go to Database

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

HAPI provides access to information about measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, and tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.

Go to Database

Health and Safety

Source for clip art and cartoon drawings on health and safety topics from the Discovery Channel.

Go to Database

Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)

HEAL is a national repository of free, web-based multimedia teaching materials in the health sciences. In a partnership with Google, HEAL has made 180 videos available from the Neurologic exam and Pedineurologic exam.

Go to Database

Health Informatics New Zealand (HINZ)

HINZ provides nursing informatics resources and a discussion list that is open to all nurses. The official journal of HINZ, Health Care and Informatics Review Online, is available at the site.

Go to Database

Health Reference Center Academic

Provides access to personal health information sources plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals. Integrates the full text and images of nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, newspaper articles, topical overviews, and reference books.

Go to Database

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Provides access to nearly 80 full text consumer health magazines, searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets, and more than 130 health reference books. This database covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children’s health, and women’s health.

Go to Database

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Includes nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with particular emphasis on nursing and allied health professions. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Go to Database

Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS)

HIMSS is a membership organization focused on leadership for the use of health care information technology and management systems for the improvement of health care. Tools, continuing education, and conference links are available.

Go to Database

HealthSTAR/Ovid HealthStar

HealthSTAR/Ovid HealthStar contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. HealthSTAR replaces the former Health Planning and Administration database (HEALTH).

Go to Database

HeritageQuest Online

Provides a collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. This database contains material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s.

Go to Database

Historical Abstracts

Covers the history of the world excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more. This database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Go to Database

Historical Anatomies on the Web

Historical Anatomies on the Web offers high quality images from important anatomical atlases in the National Library of Medicine’s historical collection.

Go to Database