Databases

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) on the Web

Journal Citation Reports allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Areas of specialty include science, technology, and social sciences.

Go to Database

Lab Training Library

The Lab Training Library is a multimedia library of training and education for the clinical laboratory.

Users must set up an account using a lab code. Contact the Information Desk to obtain this code. This program works only on a PC with Microsoft Internet Explorer, version 5.0 or higher and MS Windows Media Player, 6.4 or higher. There is no Macintosh access, and the program does not work with Firefox or Netscape.

Go to Database

Learning Express Library

Learning Express Library is a unique, interactive online learning platform that provides patrons with the most comprehensive selection of career-oriented and academic resources available—to help with job preparation, career advancement, career changes, and re-entry into the workforce.

 

Legal Collection

Centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. This database offers full text for nearly 250 of the world’s best law journals and provides information on legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, and ethics.

Go to Database

Library of Texas

The Library of Texas is a service offered by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission that allows users to easily discover and retrieve desired information from multiple library catalogs, databases, and other knowledge collections. Presently, the Library of Texas searches through the catalogs of 76 public libraries, 52 academic libraries, 4 unique libraries, and 17 TexShare commercial databases. The Library of Texas groups these information resources together by subject and region.

Go to Database

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts is a database that provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. LISTA indexes nearly 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.

Go to Database

Literature, Arts, and Medicine Database

The Literature, Arts, & Medicine Database is an annotated multimedia listing of prose, poetry, film, video and art that was developed to be a dynamic, accessible, comprehensive resource for teaching and research in Medical Humanities, and for use in health/pre-health, graduate and undergraduate liberal arts and social science settings. It is a multi-institutional project that was initiated by faculty of the New York University School of Medicine. The database can be searched by annotations, keyword, text, or people.

Go to Database

London Datastore

Data from the mayor of London includes datasets on the lives and health of people in the city of London. As of 2010, over 200 datasets had been released.

Go to Database

LUMEN: Loyola University Medical Center Anatomy Tutorial

Illustrated tutorial with self-quizzes to help students learn human anatomy. Check out the Resources section of the page for several free tutorials.

Go to Database

MAS Ultra – School Edition

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for more than 500 popular high school magazines, as well as full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps, and flags.

Go to Database

MasterFILE Premier

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 85,827 biographies, 105,789 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 285,912 photos, maps and flags.

Go to Database

MD Consult

MD Consult includes almost 50 medical texts, articles from more than 80 journals, over 1,000 practice guidelines, drug information, 10,000 patient education handouts, CME, and daily medical updates. “Generic” access does not require a subscription. UTHSC personnel may choose to subscribe free to MD Consult in order to personalize profiles. Registrations for personal subscriptions must be completed from a computer within the UTHSC Internet domain.

Database Help Button

Medical Images and Illustrations

Directory of pages and sites on the Internet offering biomedically related multimedia material, mostly images (photos, illustrations, etc.).

Go to Database

MedicLatina

MedicLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 120 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. The database includes a wide range of topics: neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, pediatrics, clinical pathology, etc.

Go to Database

MEDLINE – EBSCO

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Citations are included from Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature. Additionally includes table of contents information for 2,400 titles from the British Document Supply Centre.

Medline QR Code

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.

 

Go to Database