Protein Science

OLDMEDLINE

OLDMEDLINE represents journal article citations from two printed indexes: Cumulated Index Medicus (CIM) and the Current List of Medical Literature (CLML). Created by the National Library of Medicine, these approximately 1,816,000 citations to articles from international biomedical journals cover the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences from 1949 through 1965.

Click here for the OVID Personal Password login.

Go to Database

PubGene

PubGene, a free public access Web resource, provides users with a graphical interface to access database information, primarily from MEDLINE, that catalogs the occurrence of symbols and phrases identifying complex relationships between genes, RNA transcripts, proteins, mutations, chemical compounds, pathways, or diseases in the scientific literature. PubGene uses text mining to search the abstract texts of 25 million PubMed articles for co-citation of multiple genes or proteins and displays them as “Literature Networks,” where nodes represent each gene or protein and the connecting lines represent the number of articles in which each gene or protein pair is co-cited.

go to database

PubMed

PubMed is a search system from the National Library of Medicine. It includes references from MEDLINE and MEDLINE in Process, as well as a small number of references not included in these databases. It features built-in search filters for diagnosis, therapy, and prognosis, and includes links to databanks of DNA/protein sequence and 3-D structure data. PubMed also links to publishers’ sites for full-text journals, although many of these journals require subscriptions for viewing. Older records (1950-1965) formerly in OLDMEDLINE have also been added to PubMed.

PubMed QR Code

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.

 

Database Help Button

SCOPUS

SCOPUS is an abstract database containing records from peer review titles in the medical, scientific, technical, and social science literature. Full-text patent information is also included. More than half of the journal titles in Scopus are from countries other than the United States and include both journals that are unique to MEDLINE and journals that are unique to EMBASE, the European biomedical database that is particularly strong in drug information.

  • Over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
  • Contains 49 million records
  • Provides 100% Medline coverage

Within the 49 million records are:

  • 28 million records back to 1996 (of which 78%include citing and cited references)
  • 21 million records pre-1996 which go back as far as 1823 (these do not include cited references)
  • 5.3 million conference papers from proceedings and journals

go to database

Web of Science

The UT Health Science Center Library no longer has a current subscription to Web of Science.  Please try Scopus as an alternative.  For instructions on how to use Scopus, please contact the HSC Library, 567-2450 or email AskALibrarian.uthscsa.edu.

scopusmini