Research Support

ISIHighlyCited.com

ISIHighlyCited.com is a freely accessible web site that provides a means to identify individuals, departments and laboratories that have made fundamental contributions to the advancement of science and technology in recent decades. Coverage includes individuals who have made accomplishments in 21 broad subject categories in life sciences, medicine, physical sciences, engineering and social sciences. These individuals are the most highly cited within each category for the period 1981-1999, and comprise less than one-half of one percent of all publishing researchers.

Go to Database

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) on the Web

Journal Citation Reports allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Areas of specialty include science, technology, and social sciences.

Go to Database

RefWorks

RefWorks, a Web-based bibliographic management program, allows you to download references from a database such as Ovid using a direct export feature. It also allows you to import a text file of citations or add citations by hand, and then, using Word (for Windows or Mac), HTML, Rich Text Format, or Text, import them as in-text citations into a written document. RefWorks can then generate a formatted bibliography, in addition to a subject bibliography.

In order to use RefWorks, you will need to fill out a brief form to create a free account for yourself. You will then use the username and password you create to sign into RefWorks, even while on campus.

RePORTER

The CRISP system has been replaced by the RePORT Expenditures and Results (RePORTER) query tool. This new tool retains all of the features of CRISP while providing additional query fields, hit lists that can be sorted and downloaded to Excel, NIH funding for each project (expenditures), and the publications and patents that have acknowledged support from each project (results). RePORTER also provides links toPubMed CentralPubMed, and the US Patent & Trademark Office Patent Full Text and Image Database for more information on research results.

go to database

SciVal Experts

A system designed to evaluate, establish, and execute research strategies within an institution and beyond. SciVal Experts identifies the scholarly expertise of the UT HSC San Antonio research community through researcher profiles that track research trends and publications. SciVal Experts also helps researchers identify funding opportunities and prospective research collaborations.

This database is provided by the Institute for Integration of Medicine and Science.

Need help?

Video tutorials are available for SciVal Experts.

go to database

SciVal Funding

A tool that helps researchers, administrators and research development professionals find new funding opportunities. Also allows users to gain awareness of new sponsors that match individual research interests.

This database is provided by the Institute for Integration of Medicine and Science.

Need help?

Video tutorials are available for SciVal Funding.

SCOPUS

SCOPUS is an abstract database containing records from peer review titles in the medical, scientific, technical, and social science literature. Full-text patent information is also included. More than half of the journal titles in Scopus are from countries other than the United States and include both journals that are unique to MEDLINE and journals that are unique to EMBASE, the European biomedical database that is particularly strong in drug information.

  • Over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
  • Contains 49 million records
  • Provides 100% Medline coverage

Within the 49 million records are:

  • 28 million records back to 1996 (of which 78%include citing and cited references)
  • 21 million records pre-1996 which go back as far as 1823 (these do not include cited references)
  • 5.3 million conference papers from proceedings and journals

go to database