Research

Altbib

Altbib is a free database provided by the National Library of Medicine that can be used to search for alternatives to the use of live animals in biomedical research and testing. Altbib also offers a link to PubMed with the option of searching PubMed with a pre-set filter of Medical Subject Headings related to Animal Use Alternatives. There are additional links to live PubMed searches on selected topics and a list of other resources for information on animal alternatives.

Go to Database

BioMed Central

Digital full text archive peer reviewed research from over 100 life sciences journals managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information at the United States National Library of Medicine. Various dates of coverage are provided. Subjects include: Biology, Genetics & Life Sciences; E-Journals, Books & Newspapers; Health, Medicine & Psychology; Publicly Available Resources; and Science & Technology.

Go to Database

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You may search across many disciplines and sources from peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

Go to Database

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

HAPI provides access to information about measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, and tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.

Go to Database

ISIHighlyCited.com

ISIHighlyCited.com is a freely accessible web site that provides a means to identify individuals, departments and laboratories that have made fundamental contributions to the advancement of science and technology in recent decades. Coverage includes individuals who have made accomplishments in 21 broad subject categories in life sciences, medicine, physical sciences, engineering and social sciences. These individuals are the most highly cited within each category for the period 1981-1999, and comprise less than one-half of one percent of all publishing researchers.

Go to Database

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) on the Web

Journal Citation Reports allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Areas of specialty include science, technology, and social sciences.

Go to Database

Ovid

OvidSP is a user-friendly interface to many of the Library’s biomedical databases. These databases include the following:

Ovid MEDLINE
Ovid MEDLINE In-Process
Ovid OLDMEDLINE
EBM Reviews – ACP Journal Club
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
EBM Reviews – Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
PsycINFO
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Journals@Ovid Full Text
Ovid Healthstar
Biological Abstracts
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Methodology Register
EBM Reviews – Health Technology Assessment
EBM Reviews – NHS Economic Evaluation Database

Click here for the Ovid Personal Password login.

Database Help Button

Public STINET (Scientific and Technical Information Network)

Free version of Scientific and Technical Information Network (STINET), providing access to citations of unclassified unlimited documents that have been entered into the Defense Technical Information Center’s Technical Reports Collection, as well as the electronic full-text of many of these documents. Public STINET also provides access to the Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals, Staff College Automated Military Periodical Index, DoD Index to Specifications and Standards, and Research and Development Descriptive Summaries.

go to database

Scirus

Freely accessible, Scirus is a comprehensive science-specific search engine. Coverage includes journal sources, institutional repositories, pre-print server material, scientific web pages and much more.

go to database

SciVal Experts

A system designed to evaluate, establish, and execute research strategies within an institution and beyond. SciVal Experts identifies the scholarly expertise of the UT HSC San Antonio research community through researcher profiles that track research trends and publications. SciVal Experts also helps researchers identify funding opportunities and prospective research collaborations.

This database is provided by the Institute for Integration of Medicine and Science.

Need help?

Video tutorials are available for SciVal Experts.

go to database

  • Page 1 of 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • >