Science

Ovid

OvidSP is a user-friendly interface to many of the Library’s biomedical databases. These databases include the following:

Ovid MEDLINE
Ovid MEDLINE In-Process
Ovid OLDMEDLINE
EBM Reviews – ACP Journal Club
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
EBM Reviews – Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
PsycINFO
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Journals@Ovid Full Text
Ovid Healthstar
Biological Abstracts
EBM Reviews – Cochrane Methodology Register
EBM Reviews – Health Technology Assessment
EBM Reviews – NHS Economic Evaluation Database

Click here for the Ovid Personal Password login.

Database Help Button

PHIL: Public Health Image Library

PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to the Centers for Disease Control’s pictures. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science.

go to database

RefWorks

RefWorks, a Web-based bibliographic management program, allows you to download references from a database such as Ovid using a direct export feature. It also allows you to import a text file of citations or add citations by hand, and then, using Word (for Windows or Mac), HTML, Rich Text Format, or Text, import them as in-text citations into a written document. RefWorks can then generate a formatted bibliography, in addition to a subject bibliography.

In order to use RefWorks, you will need to fill out a brief form to create a free account for yourself. You will then use the username and password you create to sign into RefWorks, even while on campus.

RePORTER

The CRISP system has been replaced by the RePORT Expenditures and Results (RePORTER) query tool. This new tool retains all of the features of CRISP while providing additional query fields, hit lists that can be sorted and downloaded to Excel, NIH funding for each project (expenditures), and the publications and patents that have acknowledged support from each project (results). RePORTER also provides links toPubMed CentralPubMed, and the US Patent & Trademark Office Patent Full Text and Image Database for more information on research results.

go to database

SciELO – Scientific Electronic Library Online

SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) provides free access to journal literature from Brazil, Cuba, Chile, Spain and Venezuela. Subject areas include Animal and Veterinary Science, Engineering, Health Sciences, Odontology, Psychology, Psychiatry, Public Health and Social Sciences. The original literature is available full text in either Spanish or Portuguese, and many articles are also available in English.

go to database

Science & Technology Collection

Science and Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.

go to database

SciFinder

Information contained in SciFinder is from the CAS databases produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service. SciFinder also provides access to patient information, conference proceedings, and the CAS Registry of Chemical Substances. This resource also covers biology, life sciences, food sciences, engineering, physics, and other sciences.

Access to SciFinder requires registration first!  Here are instructions:

  • Access to SciFinder is restricted to currently enrolled students and current appointed faculty and staff at UT Health Science Center San Antonio.
  • During account setup, you will be asked to provide a valid personal email address ending in uthscsa.edu. If your preferred email provider is an external system such as gmail, your campus mail account must be set to forward to your preferred account.
  • Your user name must be unique and contain 5-15 characters. It can contain only letters or a combination of letters, numbers, and/or these special characters: – (dash); _ (underscore); . (period); @ (at symbol). Your password must contain 7-15 characters and include at least three of the following: letters; mixed upper- and lowercase letters; numbers; non-alphanumeric characters such as @ # % & *
  • A confirmation email will be sent to the address you provide, containing an IP-restricted link that you must follow to complete the process. (If you are off campus, you must have a proxied browser session or the link won’t work.)
  • Only one user account is allowed per email address.
  • The UT Health Science Center San Antonio Library will not know your password. Be sure to answer the secret question so you can retrieve your password if you forget it.
  • Each individual must have his/her own SciFinder account. As with all personal data, never share your username and password with anyone else. CAS will delete accounts that it suspects are shared or abusive.
  • Academic use of SciFinder is restricted by conditions you agree to upon logging in. Please read and be aware of these conditions. CAS actively monitors searching activity for evidence of abuse.

Register here

go to database

Scirus

Freely accessible, Scirus is a comprehensive science-specific search engine. Coverage includes journal sources, institutional repositories, pre-print server material, scientific web pages and much more.

go to database

SCOPUS

SCOPUS is an abstract database containing records from peer review titles in the medical, scientific, technical, and social science literature. Full-text patent information is also included. More than half of the journal titles in Scopus are from countries other than the United States and include both journals that are unique to MEDLINE and journals that are unique to EMBASE, the European biomedical database that is particularly strong in drug information.

  • Over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
  • Contains 49 million records
  • Provides 100% Medline coverage

Within the 49 million records are:

  • 28 million records back to 1996 (of which 78%include citing and cited references)
  • 21 million records pre-1996 which go back as far as 1823 (these do not include cited references)
  • 5.3 million conference papers from proceedings and journals

go to database

TOPICsearch

Current events database covering social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms.

Go To Database