Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This database contains indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present as well as citations and links to book and media reviews, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Social Sciences
America: History & Life
Posted in Databases, Databases A, General Reference, Geography, History, Social Sciences | Comments Off
Anthropological Index Online
Anthropological Index Online is based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the The British Museum (formerly Museum of Mankind) which receives periodicals in all branches of anthropology, from academic institutions and publishers around the world.
Posted in Anthropology, Databases, Databases A, Social Sciences | Comments Off
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA)
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 110,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present. The database is an essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal and medical researchers, linguists, theologians, ethnobotanists, and policy makers. BNNA will appeal to anyone interested in exploring the contributions, struggles, and issues surrounding North America’s indigenous peoples.
Posted in Anthropology, Databases, Databases B, Psychology, Social Sciences | Comments Off
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, it covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet. Searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals are also included. CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full text of 337 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
Posted in Allied Health, Databases, Databases C, Dissertations, Mobile, Nursing, Organization & Administration, Social Sciences | Comments Off
Early Encounters in North America
Materials available through this database document the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists.
Posted in Anthropology, Databases, Databases E, Social Sciences | Comments Off
ERIC
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database includes annotated bibliographic records–citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.
Posted in Databases, Databases E, Education, Social Sciences | Comments Off
ERIC (EBSCO)
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database includes annotated bibliographic records–citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. This version of ERIC is accessible through EBSCO.
This database is also available mobily.
Posted in Databases, Databases E, Education, Mobile, Social Sciences | Comments Off
HarpWeek
HarpWeek contains the indexes and text of Harper’s Weekly, with full text images and search capabilities for issues from 1857 through 1912. The developer of this electronic resource describes Harper’s Weekly as “the only consistent, comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened world-wide in the last half of the nineteenth century. The size of the Weekly’s pages prohibits the use of standard Internet browser print functions at this time. A special print application has been installed on several Library computers.
Posted in Databases, Databases H, History, Humanities, Social Sciences | Comments Off
Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more. This database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Posted in Databases, Databases H, General Reference, History, Social Sciences | Comments Off
Legal Collection
Centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. This database offers full text for nearly 250 of the world’s best law journals and provides information on legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, and ethics.
Posted in Databases, Databases L, Ethics, Government, Social Sciences | Comments Off






