Social Sciences

SCOPUS

SCOPUS is an abstract database containing records from peer review titles in the medical, scientific, technical, and social science literature. Full-text patent information is also included. More than half of the journal titles in Scopus are from countries other than the United States and include both journals that are unique to MEDLINE and journals that are unique to EMBASE, the European biomedical database that is particularly strong in drug information.

  • Over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
  • Contains 49 million records
  • Provides 100% Medline coverage

Within the 49 million records are:

  • 28 million records back to 1996 (of which 78%include citing and cited references)
  • 21 million records pre-1996 which go back as far as 1823 (these do not include cited references)
  • 5.3 million conference papers from proceedings and journals

go to database

Social Work Abstracts

The Social Work Abstracts database, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains more than 45,000 records, spanning from 1977 to the present, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.

Go To Database

Texas Reference Center

Texas Reference Center includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. The database contains biographies as well as newspapers containing Texas and national news coverage.

Go To Database

TOPICsearch

Current events database covering social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms.

Go To Database

Web of Science

The UT Health Science Center Library no longer has a current subscription to Web of Science.  Please try Scopus as an alternative.  For instructions on how to use Scopus, please contact the HSC Library, 567-2450 or email AskALibrarian.uthscsa.edu.

scopusmini