Study Resources

AccessMedicine

Collection of full text books from McGraw-Hill including access to USMLEasy, an online testing service to help prepare students for Step 1 USMLE exams. Some books can also be accessed from mobile devices; use these instructions to access the mobile interface.

Go to Database

AccessSurgery

Access Surgery includes content from electronic textbooks, drug information, surgical videos, surgical animations, and a differential diagnosis tool. Access Surgery also includes access to a board review test from Surgery Review Illustrated and Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery: Self-Assessment and Board Review.

Go to Database

Basic Genetics

An online course covering the basic concepts of genetics and non-Mendelian inheritance.

Go to Database

Bates Physical Exams

Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 4th edition is based on the Bates Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by the late Barbara Bates. It is a teaching resource consisting of 18 anatomy and system specific modules which show step-by-step examinations with rationales for the clinician’s actions. It includes expanded discussions of health history taking, documentation, communication, and patient/practitioner interactions.

Go to Database

BioDigital Human Anatomy 3D

The BioDigital Human is a 3D anatomy site for the study of anatomy, disease, and treatments. The free version contains standard interactive features.  Interactive tools for exploring, dissecting, and sharing custom views, combined with detailed medical descriptions provide a visual format to learn about the body.   Male and female images are available.  The BioDigital Human allows students and medical professionals to see a format that resembles real life.  The free version is linked and personal upgrade options are available.

Technical note from BioDigital FAQs: Chrome and Firefox currently support the 3D Graphics required by the BioDigital Human. They are freely available. The Human will also be supported in the upcoming release of Safari 6.0. Unfortunately, the HTML5 standard for 3D graphics (WebGL) is not yet supported by Internet Explorer or by mobile browsers.

Go to BioDigital Database

Bones of the Skull

Consists of a collection of 3D object movies of the skull and its individual bones, and an interactive textbook containing high-quality 2-D images, descriptive text, and many interactive activities to encourage mastery of the content.

Go to Database

Clinical Human Embryology

Explores the development of human systems from conception to birth.

Go to Database

Computer-assisted Learning in Pediatrics Program (CLIPP)

Contains thirty-two interactive virtual patient cases that are designed to cover all of the core content of the curriculum of the Council on Medical Student Education in Pediatrics (COMSEP).

Free registration is required.

Go to Database

DermaPathTutor

A tutorial in dermatologic pathology.

Go to Database

DermIS

A comprehensive online dermatology information service for healthcare professionals and patients. Contains information about specific conditions as well as adult and pediatric atlases.

Go to Database