Veterinary Medicine

AGRICOLA

AGRICultural OnLine Access serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.

Go to Database

AGRICOLA (EBSCO)

Agricultural OnLine Access is a database of records from the U.S. National Agriculture Library covering all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including food and nutrition and verterinary science. Citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.

Go to Database

Altbib

Altbib is a free database provided by the National Library of Medicine that can be used to search for alternatives to the use of live animals in biomedical research and testing. Altbib also offers a link to PubMed with the option of searching PubMed with a pre-set filter of Medical Subject Headings related to Animal Use Alternatives. There are additional links to live PubMed searches on selected topics and a list of other resources for information on animal alternatives.

Go to Database

Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC)

This site provides information on the performance of a database search for the use of animals in research. According to USDA, APHIS, Animal Care Policy #12, “a comprehensive search is an effective and efficient method for demonstrating compliance with the requirement to consider alternatives to painful/distressful procedures.

Go to Database

Embryo Images

A website tutorial that uses scanning electron micrographs (SEMs) as the primary resource to teach mammalian embryology.

Go to Database

OLDMEDLINE

OLDMEDLINE represents journal article citations from two printed indexes: Cumulated Index Medicus (CIM) and the Current List of Medical Literature (CLML). Created by the National Library of Medicine, these approximately 1,816,000 citations to articles from international biomedical journals cover the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences from 1949 through 1965.

Click here for the OVID Personal Password login.

Go to Database

PrimateLit

Provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to present and includes all publication categories (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) and many subject areas (behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, and zoogeography).

go to databases

PubMed

PubMed is a search system from the National Library of Medicine. It includes references from MEDLINE and MEDLINE in Process, as well as a small number of references not included in these databases. It features built-in search filters for diagnosis, therapy, and prognosis, and includes links to databanks of DNA/protein sequence and 3-D structure data. PubMed also links to publishers’ sites for full-text journals, although many of these journals require subscriptions for viewing. Older records (1950-1965) formerly in OLDMEDLINE have also been added to PubMed.

PubMed QR Code

Scan the code for direct access on your mobile device.

 

Database Help Button