Students Gather for Essay Award Presentation


The Danny Jones History of the Health Sciences Essay Award is an annual competition sponsored by the Friends of the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library which is housed on the Briscoe Library 5th floor. The competition is open  to all students, residents and fellows at UT Health in San Antonio. This year, due to a generous donation by Rajia Tobia, the past Executive Director of the UT Health Libraries who began the competition in honor of her late husband Danny Jones, there were five award winners. Winners were recognized during the Library Student Fiesta. From left to right in the first photo below are: Farhan Ahmad (1st place winner), Amanda Lipsitt (3rd place), Rajia Tobia, Adeyinka Dayo (5th place Honorable Mention), and Steven Bunin (4th place). The 2nd place award winner, Omar Akram, is not pictured. In the second photo, Farhan Ahmad presents on his essay topic.


Essay Titles:

  1. Farhan Ahmad, School of Medicine – Knee History: From Early Developments to the Total Knee Replacement
  2. Omar Akram, School of Medicine – Bad Blood: Medical and Ethical Implications of the Tuskegee Syphilis Study
  3. Amanda E. Lipsitt MD, first year fellow – The History of the Disease of “Stigmata” and a Reflection on How History Can Create Biases that Negatively Affect Medical Management
  4. Steven Bunin, School of Medicine – Human Dissection and Attitudes Regarding this Procedure in the History of Medicine and Medical Education: Degradation Becomes Honor as the Cadaver is Transformed
  5. Adeyinka F. Dayo, School of Dentistry – The Evolution of the X-Ray and Its Implications for Humanity